We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place to stay”
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outside Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Outside Inn is a unique and friendly place to stay. It has themed rooms, swimming pool, and great hospitality! The Inn is within walking distance to several restaurants, shopping, and several wine tasting rooms! If you're looking for a nice and relaxing vacation, staying at the Outside Inn is the place to be!

Room Tip: Check out rooms online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 392 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night while passing through and wished we could have stayed for longer. It's a small motel and each room has its own individual theme - kind of a 'boutique motel'! We stayed in the Celestial room, which was fun and had a good range of facitlities and the best coffee we encountered on the whole trip! It was a pity that we did not stay long enough to try the range of hot beverages which are complementary.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Erin who is a walking encyclopedia of local knowledge! We actually arrived well before check in but it wasn't a problem as our room was ready.

The owners have taken a traditional US motel and tranformed it into something special and unique. Check out the patio garden after the sun goes down!

Nevada City is a wonderful destination and well worth a visit. Who knows, perhaps we might manage a return trip one day...

Room Tip: Variety of rooms depending on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpack_Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This place was a superb find. It was a little difficult to find as Nevada City wasn't designed by 20th century city planners, but well worth the search. The friendly and knowledgable office staff arranged the perfect room amongst their eclectic collection for us, and then gave excellent dinner recommendations in town. Rooms were clean and quiet, and this was our favourite motel of our tour in northern Cal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Great place, with the best people. If you want to know about what to do in town, or in the mountains that surround this town stay here. Bike trails, best places to swim in the rivers, they know it. Best restaurants, just ask them they know. It's one of a kind!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snappyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I just recently moved to the area and as part of our date night we reserved a night at the Outside Inn. We had such a fun little staycation!!! Our room was so cute and perfectly sized for a couple. The weather was quite wet, however that did not put a damper on our night! We went to Lefty's for dinner and got dessert to-go from Mekka. The service and fare at both venues was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Outside Inn and would readily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staycationsweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stay at the Outside Inn regularly, surrendering our cares to the peaceful and charmed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britensmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

With adorable and uniquely decorated rooms this is a great place for a romantic and/or fun getaway. My husband and i stayed here for a night; it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location is great-walking distance to downtown Nevada City. And the price is reasonable too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyfuljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
412 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2243
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range: $79 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing