We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Victorian”
Review of Broad Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Broad Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Me & my friend love this place. It is a beautiful old Victorian at the top of Broad St. with beautifully decorated, spacious rooms. Also, the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced anywhere! Great location to walk to downtown Nevada City. Val & Steve are very friendly, welcoming and accomodating. We have stayed there three times now and will continue to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thanks Toni! It's always a pleasure to have you! Sorry you missed out on your Karaoke fix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Victorian brass bed with a push button wood burning stove. Warm and cozy with easy walking to all shops and restaurants. Owners are helpful with which trails are best for hiking depending on your physical condition.
Happy that breakfast was not included. Much nicer to chose your own cafes in town. Would definitely stat at the Broad Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvinsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Comfortable, clean, bright, sweet room. Friendly staff and hospitable atmosphere. Perfect location to access the Nevada City Theater and all of down town's special shops and restaurants. Coffee, tea available all day.

Room Tip: rooms near back for quiet. all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

What a gorgeous little inn in a perfect location. Loved the decor - modern and funky but with a nod to the property's Victorian heritage. Immaculately clean, cosy rooms, just a hop from downtown. The only downside (and the reason I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars) is that although there was a great selection of tea and coffee available all day, there was no breakfast provided. I definitely would have given 5 stars had there been a bagel or muffin or some fruit available in the morning. I would want nothing more complicated than that. Overall though, I highly recommend the Broad Street Inn and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green_been
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in room 2 for 4 nights. The room was clean, the bathroom was more than adequate the bed had great micofiber sheets and the coffee every morning was excellent...the couple that own it are very accessible, and gave good recommendations when asked. There is a small refrigerator in the sun room so you can leave leftovers for later. Perfectly located!
Definitely a good spot in Nevada city!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thank you for the kind review! We really enjoyed your stay with us! Best of luck to you on your future venture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We recently took our annual 'girlz trip' to Nevada City and stayed at the Broad Street Inn. While the Inn itself is very nice and conveniently located, we felt that they weren't at all appreciative of our business. We booked 4 rooms for 2 nights and were disappointed that they could not put all of us on the same floor-especially since all but one of their rooms are upstairs. Then after checking out on Sunday, we all walked downtown for breakfast. After breakfast, we walked back to the Inn where we left our cars. One girl politely asked if she could use their restroom before hitting the long drive back home and was told No Way. I know this may seem like a small thing, but we did spend like $1,000 at their small business for the week-end. Over all, I felt like it had kinda ruined my experience. I plan to visit Nevada City again in the Spring, but I will definitely stay somewhere else. The town is FULL of cute B&Bs and Inns.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadStreetInn, Owner at Broad Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

First and foremost I would like to apologize for your experience. While we try to make every guests' stay a pleasant one, there are some circumstances we have no control over. We are a very small inn with 6 rooms and unfortunately, no public restroom. Also, with 5 of our rooms upstairs and 1 room downstairs it is not always possible to insure groups are placed together. We had received 2 reservations prior to yours in which rooms #2 & #6 were requested and we did not feel it would be fair to those guests to move them to another room after they had specifically requested those rooms. Once the rooms have been cleaned and the next days guests have started to arrive we can't always accommodate restroom use requests. It has come to my attention however, that although the rooms had been cleaned for the day there was a room available in which the bathroom could have been cleaned again after your use. I have discussed this issue with the staff and hope that this will not happen again in the future. We did enjoy your stay with us and once again I would like to extend my most sincere apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This Inn is a gem. Beautiful restored Victorian. Tastefully decorated room. Spotlessly clean. The location is perfect - on the main street, but just outside of the business district where it gets residential. You can easily walk to all restaurants, bars, shops, etc.. It is surrounded by tall trees. Nice patios in front and back. The owners are extremely helpful and courteous. No way this is less than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
257 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
397 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Street Inn

Address: 517 W Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2115
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range: $151 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broad Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1870, Broad Street Inn is a small, family-owned green business that prides itself on providing clean, comfortable accommodations at affordable rates. Located in historic downtown Nevada City, our Victorian inn offers six contemporary rooms. Our peaceful garden setting is perfect for a relaxing getaway.Each of our rooms has a Queen-size bed, a private bathroom with a tub shower, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our sunroom has freshly brewed coffee from local roasters and organic tea, a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, wine glasses, and bottle openers. In order to keep our prices reasonable, we do not serve breakfast, but we encourage our guests to take advantage of the amazing restaurants downtown that serve reasonably-priced and delicious breakfast.We are dog friendly and will happily provide lodging for your furry friends if arrangements are made beforehand. If you're looking for a boutique motel experience with a home away from home feel, you've found the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Broad Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing