We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nevada City

“One of the Top Cafés in the Region”
Review of New Moon Cafe

New Moon Cafe
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our local celebratory café. We had delicious ravioli, cauliflower soup, and braised brussell sprouts. The soup was a bit heavy on the chicken broth, rather than vegetable broth. I had an interesting wine from the Cinsault grape. As usual, the service couldn't have been better. For a Thursday night, we were able to walk in and get a table, though it is safer to make a reservation.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank OnTheRoadAgain2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 341 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2019 via mobile

New Moon Cafe was a delightful surprise! We were in Nevada City for the night and the restaurant was recommended to us. We walked to it from The Deer Creek Inn, sat out on the porch and enjoyed a wonderful dining experience! We had a French waiter who enriched our evening as well. We will definitely dine there again when we are next in that area! *peter & lynn

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank lakeridge2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019

Nevada City is a cool old gold rush town that has a good vibe and is developing a great food scene. New Moon Cafe is leading the pack on this front. Service was great and the staff are well trained and knowledgeable of the menu. The wine list is amazing with pricing about standard for restaurants. The menu is varied and features specials posted daily. The fresh fish dishes are amazing! We had the Halibut and the Opakapaka--both fresh and generous portions. Fresh vegies are standard. Don't miss the dessert options. This is a high end experience in a nice little town. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

I had the Vegetarian Strata plate which had amazing flavors and textures. The crab cake appetizer was the best I've ever had. Pumpkin Tart was scrumptious. Would highly recommend this restaurant. Great staff and nice menu too..

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Destination258694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019 via mobile

This was by far the best meal of our extended weekend. My SO had the Brussel sprouts and I had the ravioli of the day. It’s a little pricey but for high quality excellent food was worth it. My GF and I left happy and full. Service was also excellent. Highly recommended if you’re in Nevada City.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank R1152RDlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing