We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great spot for lunch! (Probaby good for dinner too...)”
Review of Bistro 221

Bistro 221
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a great spot for lunch! (Probaby good for dinner too...)”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Took a co-worker for lunch today... wonderful! The atmosphere is sweet - in a very old building, cool brick walls, but with nice, tasteful decor. Our waitress was great and knowledgeable. The meals we ordered were presented nicely, but more importantly, were prepared deliciously! SO GOOD! I told everyone today about the chicken panini with artichoke and bacon ... and the bread, perfect! Highly recommended. Delicious food in a very nice spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One sentence? No, One word - AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I drove 532 miles to visit this town and stumbled across this restaurant. I'd drive it again just to eat there.
I won't whitter on, I'll just say "go visit and eat". You won't be disappointed.
10/10.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvsFetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummo On The Crusty Bread!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friends from Piety Hill Cottages brought me here for lunch. I ordered the Chicken Sandwich. It was a well executed sandwich and the Cole Slaw was the best I've had in a long time. The Cole Slaw is more vinegar based than mayonaisse based. Each of us ordered a different sandwich and we all remarked on how the bread had a delicious grilled crust and there was two different types of bread used for our meals. It's a nice quiet place to get away from the street hussle and bustle too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute, small”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very good service, nice menu. We had lunch there. Menu had a nice variety and prices were reasonable. The daily special was tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettyobradCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual Dinning in Nevada City”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great downtown location in historic old building, great casual dinning. Definitely a nice spot to sit and watch the foot traffic on Broad Street while you hang out with friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OutsideInnNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 221 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 221? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing