We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fred's Szechuan

Fred's Szechuan
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The food was very good. Not much ambience but the quality of the food was surprising, for out of the way Nevada City. The owners were very nice. Their little daughter was playing a computer game in the front. When it got too loud we talked to the owner and he quickly and calmly quoted it down.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshlandArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Food is great and portion size is more than reasonable for the price. Service was excellent and the water was so refreshing this might sound weird but when it is over hundred degrees it is exactly what you need. The only thing that you need to get past is the interior as it is very shabby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

While in Nevada City looking for somewhere to have dinner, we found Fred's Szechuan Restaurant. Odd name, but you remember it. Larger restaurant than I thought from the outside. Nice inside, and well decorated. The food was great and the service was outstanding. Friendly staff who took time to visit and gave us some history of the restaurant. Very reasonably price and ended us with lots of to go goodies. Since we were from out of town, they provided us with everything we needed to enjoy leftovers later.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank California-Girl-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unlikely name, but fine "Chinese" restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Another really good restaurant in Nevada City. We happened upon this place by accident and having been going back regularly. We have sampled a good portion of the menu items and have not found a loser yet. If you like excellent food and good service, you can't miss a this place. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Favorite in Nevada City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is hard to beat for quality, quantity, price and friendly relaxed service. We "test" Chinese restaurants by their hot sour soup and Fred's is nicely balanced between heat and the mellowing effect of white vinegar. The egg rolls are crisp, the rice fluffy and the menu includes a pleasing variety of distinctively flavored dishes. It's just a really pleasant, unpretentious place that consistently exceeds our expectations...and yes...there really is a "Fred."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Szechuan also viewed

 
Nevada City, CA
 

Been to Fred's Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing