We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
109
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
109
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian room cookies quiche breakfast was delicious private parking front porch unique shops and restaurants accommodating hosts perfect place to experience off street parking room was clean great hosts bottled water within walking distance brewed coffee dietary restrictions the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 122 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2015

We had a great stay. The location is phenomenal - we could walk to all the restaurants and shops (they had off-street parking.) The bed was comfortable - we were in the front of the house, which was the priest's original bedroom. The breakfast was very good, and Barbara and Ken were super helpful. Thanks!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed at the Madison house, in the gold room, for our twenty year wedding anniversary and really enjoyed our visit. The rooms are beautiful, the owners friendly and the breakfast was delicious! We would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Hansens1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2015

The owners Ken and Barbara are very warm and inviting. Cookies and tea were waiting for us upon arrival. We stayed in the Victorian room upstairs in the back. Comfy soft bed, and quiet inviting environment. Not overly swanky or stuffy, it delightful and accommodating. The parking behind is convenient since parking downtown can be tricky. They even let us park there on the day we left as they didn't have a full house the next day needing the space. This place is at the far edge of the main strip, so very convenient to just about anything in town. I appreciated they are one of the few B&B's around that will still take a 1 night stay on the weekend in the off season. That's a super big benefit if you're just coming up for quick weekend trip. The breakfast was WONDERFUL. We had bacon, quiche, raspberry muffins, salad greens, orange juice and fruit. All homemade and exceptional!! We wouldn't hesitate to return.

ps The towels from Restoration Hardware are the BEST! Both of us commented we wish our own bathroom were a nice as this.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at The Madison House. Everything about it is just lovely. From the moment you walk in, you're surrounded by hospitality. Cookies awaited us as we checked in. And Ken and Barbara were warm and friendly. Ken and Barbara are very attentive to the details to make for the perfect t B & B experience. Our room, "Lisa's Room", was very charming and soooo comfortable and clean. The bathroom had high end products with essential oils and, yes, the towels are worth mentioning! Lovely! The location makes it so easy to enjoy the nearby shops and restaurants, yet the decor is so elegant yet inviting, that I could have just enjoyed reading in one of their lovely chairs drinking tea by a big window all day. And then the breakfast!...Delicious! I came down the stairs to the aromas of fresh brewed coffee and banana bread!!! They served us fresh fruit, banana bread, eggs, bacon and hearty toast. We were spoiled! So all this to say, I would definitely recommend The Madison House. I look forward to the next time we can come!

Room tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BrigitHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015

The Madison House is right in the heart of historic Nevada City, easy for a "don't touch your car" weekend. Ken and Barbara are gracious, accommodating hosts who took care of all our requests and needs. Comfortable house, good food, friendly dog. We will return!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mickey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews