We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
109
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
109
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian room cookies quiche breakfast was delicious private parking front porch unique shops and restaurants accommodating hosts perfect place to experience off street parking room was clean great hosts bottled water within walking distance brewed coffee dietary restrictions the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 122 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2014

Just had a great weekend, staying with Barbara & Ken at their new Madison House (the former name is The Parsonage). Madison House is located on Broad Street, the center of Nevada City, and has parking, which is a great convenience, but quiet as if its miles away. Each room is differently decorated in the Victorian/Nevada County style. As a photographer, I loved the warm lighting, magazines of various subjects, and attention to detail. Ken and Barbara are happy to talk, but will stay out of your way and let the vacation be yours. Couldn't find a better place!

Room tip: Every room is a jewel.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful B&B in Nevada City to celebrate our anniversary. The hosts, Ken & Barbara, were very friendly and made our overnight visit a very pleasant stay. The location was excellent as it was located right on the main street to restaurants and shops. As we were leaving the next morning, Barbara rushed outside to our car as we left a tee shirt behind in the room. Will returned to this B&B place again and perhaps with friends or relatives.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building so the morning light will not get you up so early. Don't know if the other rooms has shades/shutters?
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2014

We were first time Visitors to Nevada City and the Parsonage B&B (soon to be renamed the Madison House) was the perfect place to stay. The new owners, Ken and Barbara, were the perfect hosts in making our stay comfortable and relaxing. Beautifully appointed Victorian style house. Beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful. We just felt like we were home. Located right at the top of the old historic downtown district you couldn't ask for a more perfect location. Two doors down is the Nevada Theater opened in 1865 being the oldest original-use theater in California. The doors have been opened for entertainment for almost 150 years.
Whether its a special occasion, just want to get away like we did, or maybe looking for a special gift to give someone, you can rest assured that this would be the place. Ken and Barbara will go out of their way to make it a remarkable experience. Its location will do the rest.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 456jOHn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014

My son reserved this B&B for us and does he ever have good taste! The Parsonage which is in the process of being renamed Madison House by the new owners, is a lovely 1865 Victorian home that has all the upgrades of modern life while keeping the charming details of another period. The room we had was called the Victorian and featured a gigantic 4 poster bed, armoire, fainting couch and windows overlooking a tree filled back neighborhood. The room was large with its own ensuite bathroom and clawfoot tub. The luxury linens on the bed and in the bathroom make you feel so pampered. The owners are very friendly and kind. Breakfast is definitely well executed: perfectly cooked organic eggs and nice sides from roasted potatoes, peppers, onions to a killer cornbread, like a cake. It is in the historical district of Nevada City and everything in this area is a simple walk--fine dining, winery tasting rooms (3), a period and still operating theater with plays and performances, a concert venue, shops, etc. This area is especially gorgeous in the fall. The Inn has its own parking lot in the rear--a real plus since street parking is at a real premium in this town.

Room tip: The Victorian and the Balcony share the upper floor in the rear. Quiet, pretty, spacious.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SherrillR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

When we stayed here last September, the new owners just took over the Inn and they where busy moving their personal stuff in. This never hampered us and the innkeepers did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. A great breakfast is served in the morning!
The building itself is an old Victorian style house, nicely decorated with art and stylish furniture. We had the two rooms upstairs at the back and they where great! The B&B is located in the centre of the city with many nearby restaurants. Certainly a place I can recommend!

Room tip: We had the upstairs rooms at the back and these are nice quiet rooms, one with a small balcony. I don't know about the other three rooms at the frontside, they might be a little more noisy as being at the front, on the other hand, Nevada City is a small, quiet town, so it can't be much noise!
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews