We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi In The Raw

Sushi In The Raw
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you can find it you are in for a great experience. Grab a stool at the bar for the most amazing Shooters ever. Food is fabulous !! Tiny place, make a reservation for sure, but if the bar has a seat or two grab them....intimate with very fun flair......now I'm hungry for Sushi !!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 32771Suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite sushi place by far. I love the sushi here and the staff. Everything is fantastic. Only compliant would be the sushi bar up front it gets so packed up there you can hardly get through the door to the restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ara555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but Mighty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wow. Just wow. This is one surprisingly good sushi restaurant in a very small town in the Northern California foothills. I've eaten in several sushi bars/restaurants in California and in Hawaii, but Sushi in the Raw really shines. Although the restaurant space may be tiny, the food is huge -- both in flavor and presentation. No wonder it's virtually impossible to get a reservation at Sushi in the Raw. The place was *packed* on a Tuesday night in mid-October -- hardly high tourist season. We had excellent hand rolls in various configurations - - tuna, salmon, crab -- with delicious dipping sauces. The service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Sushi in the Raw is definitely a "keeper."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi outside of japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After not being able to get reservations on numerous try's, we lucked out on a Friday night. There was walk in availability at the front bar! The sake selection is varied and plentiful. The menu quite extensive for the size of the restaurant...tiny. Each piece of sushi was delicious and beautifully presented. The truffled sashimi...amazing. We were delighted with the experience. Next time, hope to be seated at the back bar or at one of the few tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The "regulars" have a way of dominating the atmosphere. My experience was with a loud, crude "regular" who was obnoxious. This is not a typical/tradition sushi restaurant/bar. The sushi is not very fresh and leans toward "experimental". Fine if that's your gig. A better choice if you want traditional, exquisite sushi is is Sushi Q.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P_K_ryouko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi In The Raw also viewed

 

Been to Sushi In The Raw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing