We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandy is a great bartender.”
Review of Sushi In The Raw

Sushi In The Raw
Ranked #11 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mandy is a great bartender.”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We went on a Wednesday - can walk in to sit at the bar. We sat down, asked our neighbors what they were eating - looked good. Cucumber base for sushi - refreshing our neighbors said. They told us Mandy makes good recommendations. Which she did. I can't remember the names of the rolls we had but ask Mandy - she'll know what you'll like. Another gal sat down to our right. She confirmed we had ordered the best food.
We had the edamame, and shared our neighbor's spicy edamame. We preferred hers - it wasn't too spicy. We had mango shooters - that was delicious once I figured out how to eat or shoot it.
We had two rolls - one had the sauce for which Sushi in the Raw is known and liked.
I'm partial to tuna so I know it had some tuna in there too.
For dessert we had the ice cream wrapped in rice flour.Mandy recommended the red bean ice cream - which is what I was leaning towards. She was right - it was good.
More people sat to our left - nice, fun. Very congenial and delicious evening.
It's a little pricey - more so than its competitor across town.
What is interesting is the gals to our right and left work at restaurants and come to this one often to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
1 review
“wonderful!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The chef is a artist--truly. Order the chef's choice and be blown away. Along with Yoshi's in Oakland, this is the best sushi I've had in Northern California

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not sure why everyone makes such a fuss about this place”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We have lots of friends who just rave on and on about this restaurant. But we've eaten here several times now and cannot figure out how this place gets so many 5-star ratings on places like Yelp - especially considering the prices and service.

We love sushi. And their sushi is definitely very fresh. They get bonus points for that. But the menu is not all that creative (in fact the menu is more limited than most sushi places) and the prices are quite high for what you get. Plan to spend $80. - $90. for two for dinner. Also, service can be quite slow which can be a real problem, especially if you arrive hungry.

We ordered 5 items, plus drinks (sake). The Susan Roll was probably the best thing we ordered. The white truffle yellowtail was very fresh, but that's about it. The little drizzle of truffle oil didn't really add much to this item.

We will go back to try it one more time, just to see if we ordered the wrong items last time around. There are two other sushi restaurants in the area (I have reviewed them both here on trip advisor). Of the two, I think that Kaido is the better choice overall, if you are looking at a complete dining experience, price, atmosphere, service, and food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sundari108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Sushi this side of the Pacific”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rue provides amazing sushi. People come from all over for wonderful sushi. Rue was born and trained in Japan. This is by far the best sushi I have ever had (and I have a lot.) Be careful his sushi is addictive .Call first to make sure they are open as Rue wil not open if he not 100% satisfied with the fresh fish delivery. Reservations highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank hnm4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada county, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I love this place. The food is always fresh and tasty. The best sushi around!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank koolforkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi In The Raw also viewed

 
Nevada City, CA
 

Been to Sushi In The Raw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing