We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”

Nevada City Classic Cafe
Ranked #21 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We serve American breakfasts, lunch and authentic French crepes daily. You can also join us on Friday evenings for Tapas and live music. Check out our Facebook for updates.
CA, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Eggs Benedict was just OK, very clean, friendly staff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobalou007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreadful service, sinister owner”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We visited this cafe for breakfast with our two year old son and it was a thoroughly dreadful experience. We ordered fruit salad and porridge for our son, which took an eternity (40 min) to arrive at the table, during which time our two year became a bit (but not excessively) unruly. I was then asked by the waitress to answer the phone to find it was the owner on the other end asking us to leave! I can't comment on the food as I never ate it - it never arrived before we left - but have never have I had such a cold experience in my life! Avoid this place and eat at the other many good options in Nevada City!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branna38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Last time I went, I ordered the biscuits and gravy, and it tasted like just flower and water, no sausage taste at all.

But the worst thing is watching the cooks drip sweat on to the gril as they cook!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snappyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic crepes”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A simple diner with the most amazing crepes...YUM!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the crepes”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I tried some of Geneieve’s crepes, sauteed onions, red bell pepper, mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach and topped with hollandaise sauce. The restaurant has been in operation since the 1950’s and feels like your quaint small town diner, complete with a counter and stools. Open 7 days a week for breakfast and lunch stop by and let them know the Outside Inn sent you by, you’ll be glad you went.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutsideInnNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevada City Classic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nevada City Classic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing