We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most for breakfast or lunch”
Review of South Pine Cafe

South Pine Cafe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Abbotsford BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A most for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A funky busy restaurant with a great variety of high quality food. When you eat here it's more of an experience than a meal. You leave saying: Wow, I am coming back! The food is all homemade and that includes the ketchup too!
Well done!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zymeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    69
    13
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tuolumne, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our fly fishing guide recommended South Pine Cafe and he was right. This place is amazing. Great food, wonderful service and a comfortable atmosphere. I'd definitely eat there again on my next visit to Nevada City...Yum!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great spot for breakfast - they offer a variety of hearty egg dishes (be sure to check out the benedicts!) as well as french toast, pancakes, etc. - and greatcoffee and tea. Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere - all just half a block from the center of town. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The breakfast I'd been looking for...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

To be honest, after nearly a fortnight of travelling around and sampling pancakes, benedicts and all sorts of other breakfasts in enormous portions but of varying qualities my expectations of South Pine weren't high, and I ordered the half portion of French Toast with Ollilaberries (think blackberry/redcurrant type cross). But it was amazing, and the perfect portion size! Whilst eating, plate after plate of delicious looking eggs benedict went past, making me wish I could eat twice - home made hollandaise, and despite what may have read like an odd mixture on a plate (lobster, eggs, potatoes, avocado, and more!), it really did look fantastic. Juices were freshly squeezed, coffee and tea refilled free. Lucky, lucky locals!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Popular Cafe”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

South Pine is a very popular breakfast and lunch eating establishment for locals and tourists alike. Go early on weekends, or be prepared to stand in line and wait. Have eaten here many times. Food is always good and plentiful. Lots of choices. Our reason for not going more often is that it is an extremely noisy eating experience. Loud talking, exposed kitchen with dishes clanging, cooks and wait staff talking loud. Just not the kind of experience we enjoy. If the food were not good, I would have scored it much lower. If noise does not bother you, go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Pine Cafe also viewed

 
Nevada City, CA
Grass Valley, CA
 

Been to South Pine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing