We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value on the River” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lefty's Grill

Lefty's Grill
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual white linen dining. Come see our new 1,100 sq ft dining room, featuring a view of Deer Creek. We also offer a full bar with daily drink specials. Enjoy our creekside patios, upper bar and wine tasting room. Think of us for gourmet burgers, pizza, elegant meals, banquets and catering. See us on Wednesday for our Blue Plate Special and Fridays for fresh house-made Fish & Chips, Clam Chowder and Coleslaw-all day, til sold out. Come early!
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value on the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 2 night in Nevada City last week and got to experience dinner at Lefty's! We chose a table on the deck downstairs and it was a good decision. We had a beautiful evening and could hear the river below us. The special that night was Flank steak. We asked for it to be cooked medium rare and it was cooked as such.Meal included fresh yummy corn on the cob, potato salad, fresh green beans and salad. More food than we could eat but hit the spot. Cookie for dessert completed the evening. With several fancy place to choose from we opted for this down home comfort place and we are happy we did!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poppyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review! This is what we are aiming for. Look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    100
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Popular diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Really liked the food and ambiance. Went there for supper 3 times out of 4 days. Popular place among the locals also. The parking lot needs help.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review! This is what we are aiming for. Look forward to serving you again. Please try the parking lot across the street, at the of Nevada Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lefty's Grill serves the most delicious cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We love to dine at Lefty's Grill. You can sit out on the deck by the creek and enjoy fresh air and sunshine; and you can eat out there too. It's quite lovely! The food is always good; and try the the freshly made desserts, if you still have some room!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review! This is what we are aiming for. Look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have eaten at Lefty's Grill nearly a dozen times and every time I go there I am impressed with the service, presentation, and quality of the meal. There are cheaper places to get a burger but the quality of the food and other dishes here are amazing and make it worth the added cost. I love this restaurant and it is a great place to go throughout the year, but in the warmer months the deck overlooking the creek is a great setting for a meal. The menu has a wonderful variety from burgers and fries to steaks and seafood. All of it is top notch quality and wonderfully presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your loyalty! We love our town and the many folks who frequent our tables. Look forward to serving you again soon. Just a heads up, we are offering a very special Mother's Day Brunch from 10am-3pm May 11. Mother's Day menu now up at www.LeftysGrill.com...be sure to call early for reservations at 530- 265-5838....this classic date will sell out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best burger and great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

What a great place in Nevada City. Burgers are the best I have had in a long time. The topping are amazing. Cabernet jam is a must!! Sit outside. Great atmosphere on a beautiful day. Service was great too!!

Helpful?
Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for taking time to let other diners know that you enjoyed your meal. Look forward to serving you again soon. Just a heads up, we are offering a very special Mother's Day Brunch from 10am-3pm May 11. Mother's Day menu now up at www.LeftysGrill.com...be sure to call early for reservations at 530- 265-5838....this classic date will sell out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lefty's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing