We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had too much to drive? This will work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Hotel
Save
You added National Hotel to your Saves list
211 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Had too much to drive? This will work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location is great - staff was nice enough, and I was able to sleep o.k & am still able to review it
OK for a night, Hotel Impossible I am sure could come up with many ideas to improve - a little musty, carpets very old - sink was clogged & kind of gross, no cold water at the sink. But I knew what I was getting in for - On the plus a very cool balcony to look at Broad street - the upstairs "parlour" is kind of interesting - it is a historic place. the pool looked cool, but was closed AC sort of worked - TV had some channels on it - I was there to see a show & did not want to drive, and the National did the job. I would go back for the same reason

Room Tip: Check out the room first - do not expect much
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelinscott29120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    12
    18
    51
See reviews for
15
36
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good prices. Hotel dates from the late 1800's. Nice room, tall bed, fireplace. Whirlpool tub, but very small. No elevator, depending on which entrance you use, lots of stairs. Right on the start of Old Town. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: The have economical rooms. The more you want to pay, the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you like quirky,funky hotels with lots if historic charm this is the place for you. We loved having drinks on the enormous balcony that overlooks all of historic dowtown Nevada City. It's a bit run down in spots but if you dont mind a little adventure it could be a lot of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drakeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Always wanted to investigate this place! The National Hotel resides in the small Historic town of Nevada City, CA. The hotel was, surely a blast from the past. With lots of the original furnishings and photographs lining the walls, this place had the perfect setting for another one of my paranormal parties. Plenty of stories from the friendly staff. Decided to try room 51 for the night and set up my equipment. The night was relatively quite, except for some random K2 hits. Did get some interesting photos with a few orbs captured. Haven't had the time to playback all of my EVP recordings yet, but will keep you posted. Overall, the experience was pleasurable. Plenty of town attractions for some nice photography. I see a return visit in the future. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORBS_inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I had read in a travel book that the National Hotel was a "must see" and that the restaurant was the best place in Nevada City for a meal. Well, yes, if you want to see what the Old West must have been like, then this is the spot for you.The hotel is grubby; it needs a good cleaning and window washing. Actually, it needs about $2 million spent on rejuvenating it. The restaurant reminded us of a scene from a 1950's western movie, with some lovely oak mirrors but dirty tablecloths and tin cutlery that could have graced an 1849 boarding house. An ancient, moldy grand piano was at the entrance to the dining room, which was cavernous.

Surprisingly, the food was quite good. We enjoyed some excellent clam chowder and fish and chips. The fish was tender and fresh, and the chef does in-house breading and cuts and fries the chips. Really delicious. We were the only patrons in the dining room, and we noted that the chef came out to ask if we had enjoyed our meal. We said "yes," enthusiastically.
But the place did seem haunted. There were photos on the walls of George Custer's brother (I think). and the stairs leading up to the hotel rooms were dark, dirty, and unwelcoming. The restrooms were in need of a major rehab--yesterday. Whoever owns this hotel needs to look again at the business plan. It's a shame to let an historical treasure fall in such disarray. I noted that there have been various notes of strange voices and ghostly visitors. I'm not really convinced of such supernatural visits, but we did feel strangely creepy and left rather hurriedly. Go somewhere else for the hospitality of the town--that's my advice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 397carolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nevada City hotels

Northern CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok, went Christmas shopping with friends, wanted a unique experience & we got it! Lumpy tiny beds, cold water, semi clean & noisy! Incidentally, I'm not one for the far out, but I truly think there are spirits here! A good memory in a GREAT location. It truly is convenient for shopping Nevada City,

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Momospond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in rm 34, the king suite, last weekend and it was perfectly fine. Hubby said the shower was a bit worse for the wear, but all in all pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. The bar is great, best lemon drop around!! Perfectly situated and coffee shop next door called Curly Wolf is awesome!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.1 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Property: National Hotel
Address: 211 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing