We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work”
Review of National Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Prescott, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I am a fan of historic hotels, and love the uniqueness of my stays at these places. However, the National needs refurbishing, particularly the beds and mattresses. It's kind of important, eh? I can live with the musty smell and tired decor, but a good night's sleep is essential ! No amenities other than soap, kitchenette completely empty of anything except 3 water glasses (hello, coffee mug and water kettle?), and to top it off the night desk attendant was not pleasant to us in dealing with a billing issue. The one thing the place has going for it is the location. I think we can do better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank swami12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    13
    19
    56
See reviews for
19
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

There have been stories told by those in the community for years about the ghosts in the National Hotel. Don't believe it? Go upstairs at night and walk the halls. Listen. Look. Then go to the bar for the best Scotch in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YubaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel. No, it's not a 5 star hotel it's more than that. It has history and character from the Gold Rush days. If you're expecting the conveniences of hotels of today then this hotel is not for you. The best part is going outside on the balcony and watching the events on the main street. You can walk every where.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petals210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Such a shame.
It's a beautiful location, right in town & a beautiful old building with lots of history.
However, I would guess the last make over was during the 1950's.
OMG, dark, dull, tired - our first room didn't have a shower. The second room the shower over the bath worked fine, but the water didn't drain quickly enough and the bath filled up!
And the retailers in town all apologised when we said where we had stayed!!!!
This place is desperate for a refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EvsFetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nevada City hotels

California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Built in 1856, this hotel is in a great location and does bring a bit of the gold rush days to life; however, the rooms are not up to standards of today. We felt the room was reasonably clean, but the furnishings and the carpet were extremely tired. Sitting on the chairs was not comfortable. The mattress was really bad and one of us slept on the daybed in our suite, which did have a reasonable mattress. The bathroom was very small – you could literally wash your hands while on the toilet. The bar and restaurant looked very inviting, but on a Saturday night, there was no one in the restaurant, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bettyobradCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dinner was very good in the hotel fyi. (Glad I didn't view the kitchen) I was looking for a place to plug my phone in, when I pulled back mattress a bit all I saw was dust and cobwebs up against the fitted sheet, had of been there for years (gross) mattress was on a sheet of plywood, so bed wasn't really comfortable. Ant's in bathroom along with wet spot's on the floor around toilet.

Yes, it is haunted :) Finally after the clothing armoire opened on it's own 4 times after being closed and latched we knew there was a odd feeling in the place. After my husband yelled at it to take what it wanted and leave, the door remained closed. Very interesting.

Very old, dusty and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the suite. Room was pretty bad. Decor, furniture, and beds were all from the 70's. i would not stay here again. This place is a total dump. I have no idea how they are still in business. The carpet throughout the room and hotel was dirty, musty, and very strange. No screens on the windows. Frankly, this place needs an inspection by the Board of Health.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cokemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Property: National Hotel
Address: 211 Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2501
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing