We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our cabin in the California Hills”
Review of Northern Queen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Queen Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Reno
1 review
“Our cabin in the California Hills”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our family loves the Northern Queen. We tried other places in Grass Valley and Nevada City until we found the Northern Queen. We love the area, but a stay at the Northern Queen really makes the occasion. The food service is oustanding, the Trains and memorabilia amazing, wildlife, pool, and the great staff and owners - all make this a really memorable resort.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — When it is full and I cannot get a reservation
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 11F4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    25
    18
    18
See reviews for
30
45
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Acton, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Our whole family meets annually at the Northern Queen. If you are looking for a sterile room with a mint on the pillow than you should probably look elsewhere. If you are looking for comfy, woodsy, private, gorgeous views, friendly staff...Then Welcome to The Northern Queen! Yes the rooms are more than lived in, but the views and privacy are worth way more than a sterile floor! Our family can't thank them enough, and everything at the restaurant, Trolly Junction, is Delicious! Uptight folks should go to the Marriot Courtyard Suites!! Laid back people who love privacy should go to the Northern Queen!! It's like camping with all the amenities of home. The Chalets are best, Cabins are second best and if you are tight on money just grab a regular room. Thanks to everyone at the Northern Queen, and we'll see you next year!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wolfe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston uk
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

bit dated 10 min walk to town navada city what a great little place good night life clean and frendley went white water rafting in truckee about 1 hours drive from here

  • Disliked — dated rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Wa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Our stay at the Northern Queen Inn was pleasant. We stayed in one of their cabins which we recommend for the privacy, large space and comfort. The Inn has Wifi, a small pool which we did not use and a very friendly staff. It is convenient to downtown Nevada City and reasonably priced. Our cabin did have several lightbulbs out and needed a more thorough dusting, cobweb removing. It is aged looking inside but still a good deal for the money. We would stay here again and think that it will be a great place to bring the kids next time.

  • Liked — The secluded cabins and the waterfall.
  • Disliked — The room had cobwebs and lightbulbs out.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank olympiafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Nice, clean, pleasant place to stay. I highly recommend the cabins, but the rooms are just fine.
The cabins come equipped with all you need in the kitchen. Silverware/pots and pans.
Lovely setting with trees.

  • Liked — Setting and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3dayweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Spent one night in the regular rooms. Nothing special, it's an older property, but it does seem very well maintained. My room was opposite the highway side, so there were no noise problems. Comfy bed, but not so comfy pillows. The cabins look pretty good, especially for families. The on-site restaurant is pretty good too, at least for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuck_In_A_Cubicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I was visiting friends in Grass Valley and unfortunately had no idea that Nevada City was hosting it's annual Patriot's Day festivities that weekend. The only "chain" hotel (a Holiday Inn Express) in the region was booked solid as was most other hotels in the area. I was able to get the nights I wanted at the Northern Queen Inn through their online booking on their web site and they even gave me a $15 per night discount on their normal room rate.

The hotel is nestled in the woods directly adjacent to Hwy 20 and within a short walking distance of the main street in Nevada City. Where the other hotels in the area are actually on the main road in town, this one wasn't. So it was more secluded and quiet than the other hotels.

The area surrounding the hotel makes for a beautiful setting and there is a train that will take you on a tour of the property and an old Chinese Cemetery for a nice little historical tour.

I couldn't eat at the restaurant on the hotel premesis as it was booked solid due to the influx of people for the weekend festivities, but it looked to be on par with something like a Carrows or high class Denny's.

The room I stayed in was unremarkable. It was clean however, and they provided a small refrigerator in the vanity area. The room had a sitting area next to the window so it was larger than some hotel rooms I've been in before. It was comfortable and quiet, which is all you can ask for in a hotel room after all. Oddly enough, the toilet would never completely flush in my room. I'd have to hold the handle all the way down to get it to completely flush. I don't know if someone previously clogged it and they never fully plunged it, or if it's a low water pressure problem.

There was a 19" T.V. in the room and I thought it was a little cheap given that most hotels put nothing smaller than a 27" in the room these days. It was difficult to watch from all but the foot of the bed. Fortunately, I didn't spend much time in the room and I somehow think that is the intent.

There was a pool in front of the office of the hotel, but I didn't make use of it. It's rather small, but something I'm sure kids would enjoy.

Overall the hotel is quiet, comfortable and clean. The surrounding area is beautiful at any time of year and when you look at the other choices and price ranges for a room in Nevada City, this hotel pretty much beats the rest hands down for it's value and charm.

If you are in Nevada City, this hotel is one of the best options unless you absolutely must stay on the main street. I seriously recommend it.

  • Liked — The location and the view were spectacular!
  • Disliked — Coukd have went with larger T.V. in the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Codevyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 6 in Nevada City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Queen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Queen Inn

Property: Northern Queen Inn
Address: 400 Railroad Ave, Nevada City, CA 95959-2868
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Queen Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Northern Queen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Queen Hotel Nevada City
Northern Queen Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing