We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Deer Creek Inn. The service provided by Ken and Eileen was extraordinary, from the tour and historical information about the house (we loved that it was inhabited by single suffragettes!) to the scrumptious three course breakfasts on the deck. My husband has never been interested in VIctorian houses until after staying in this one--and he actually rented one in graduate school!

We stayed in Sheryl's room, which was lovely, with its own private, large balcony, where we had tea and listened to the creek. We never heard anything from the nearby rooms.

Nevada City is a great little town; it's a three minute walk from the inn. We enjoyed eating at Ike's Quarter, and the New Moon Cafe was extraordinary--what a find! The ice cream at Treats was among the best we've ever had. Don't miss The Tanglewood Forest on Broad St. We also went kayaking on Scotts Flat lake and spent a lot of time at the river.

We had a relaxing, rejuvenating two nights and three days in Nevada City, thanks to the Deer Creek Inn, our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
195
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Our hosts provided a full tasting of local wines with munchies after our arrival in the late afternoon. Our wonderful dinner at Citronee' was just a walk up the hill. Nevada City is small, old, atmospheric with great shopping and restaurants in easy walking distance - a good location for a weekend getaway. The night was comfortable in the well-appointed room, and breakfast was delicious and served in style. We hope to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We loved our stay here. The food was great. The rooms were cozy. The views of the creek were bucolic. Everything was charming about this plac, and the proprietors go out of there way to be helpful. The only thing wrong was that our stay was too short. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We are extremely selective about where we stay when we travel, as we just sold our own Inn, and are always looking for Inns that would be the kind of Inn that we used to run. Ken and Eileen are the perfect hosts, and I mean in everything they do.
From the moment Ken met us at the door to greet us, to when we left, they could not have done anything any better.

The Inn is clean, comfortable, well maintained, and in a perfect location. We could walk to town to window shop, and have the most amazing dinners. We trusted the Innkeepers to tell us where to eat, and they were spot on! The 1st nite we wanted casual, and Lefty's was perfect. The next nite was Valentine's Day, so we wanted something special, and Curino's Italian was just what we wanted, great food, white tablecloth, good prices. Both great dinners were due to the recommendation of Ken and Eileen.
Then, there was breakfast. Holy goodness! You will have to have a very long walk afterwards, cause there is more food than you can imagine, and the BEST!

Anyway, what more could I say....you just have to come and experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Deer Creek Inn, Nevada City in mid Oct 09. Ken & Eillen are lovely hosts and if you are British and a stranger to the American B & B experience,..try this one.

I think there is no point in writing about this B & B as all is said perfectly well in the Trip Advisor comments available to date.

Perhaps a little over the top for me as a Ships Captain who has travelled the world for 47 years and more used to hotels which are direct/no nonsense,..but a lovely experience to be at this B & B and my wife loved it.

The garden down to the creek is very relaxing.

There is a small private car park so your car is perfectly safe.

Town is lovely,....and well worth a visit.

Private free internet is available, but rather slow.

Breakfast was interesting with 6 other younger Americans all very middle class, lovely people and stimulating conversation.

American B & B's are quite expensive particularly with the state of the UK pound,..but treat yourself to this one.

Nearby Nevada City (which is really just a small quaint town with gas lamps that cannot be turned off!) is Grass Valley,...also a very pretty little town.

Capt & Mrs John Mitchell, UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Ken, Eileen and their 'kids' made us feel so relaxed and welcome....the wine tasting (right in the kitchen!), the gourmet breakfast, the beautiful creekside location and the grand 'Sheryl' room exceeded all our expectations. I would recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone. Short walk to main street Nevada City....wonderful restaurants....local winerys. Our anniversary was very special...Thanks again....:~))

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank procarepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We found this B&B at the spur of the moment when we decided we needed some rest and relaxation. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Ken and Eileen are wonderful, warm, welcoming hosts (so are their dogs!). The food was wonderful, service exemplary and just all around relaxing. We left there saying, "why would anyone stay in a regular hotel room after staying here." We can't say enough great things about our stay and will visit very often in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiminey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.3 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Property: Deer Creek Inn
Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing