We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and scrumptious stay!”
Review of Deer Creek Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Relaxing and scrumptious stay!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the Deer Creek Inn, relaxing and enjoying the town and nearby activities. Ruth, the owner, was fantastic in making us feel comfortable and giving us ideas of places to visit and of nearby restaurants. The afternoon wine hour gave us a chance to meet some of the other guests and share our day. Ruth creates superb multi-course breakfasts, making it hard to come back to our "usual" everyday breakfast. Our room was spacious and even had a private balcony overlooking the well-kept grounds. The Inn has a lot of character, and was also decked out for the current holiday season, and it was these details that contributed to making DCI a warm and inviting place to stay. The location of DCI is extremely convenient, just a couple of blocks from the town's main streets. Thanks for a wonderful first B&B experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIY_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
200
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed there during my son's wedding. The owner, Ruth, was so helpful and pleasant. Made our whole weekend so pleasant. You won't be disappointed. From the food to the setting, Deer Creek Inn is the quintessential B&B experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I just spent 3 nights here. The house is magnificent; the queen bed was very comfortable; the room was plenty spacious with a table and chairs, an electric heater in addition to central heating, its own bathroom and a separate tub with shower. Ruth, the manager, prepared gourmet breakfasts and was a delight in conversation -- as were the other guests. The happy hour wine or lemon liquor with chocolate candies or artichoke and cheese tapas was a nice touch. It's only 2 blocks from historic downtown Nevada City and only 1 block from a really good restaurant and pub (Lefty's). There's space for 3 or 4 cars on the property and a free public parking lot right across the street. We didn't spend any time in the yard overlooking the creek, because we were so busy touring the old town, visiting the RR museum and attending a granddaughter's wedding, but the yard looked like a lovely place to relax while listening to the creek. We'll return. -- Bob

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms view either the creek or the historic old town. Your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDolceVita41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Decided to visit Nevada City during a trip to Sacramento...beautiful little inn with stream and garden two short blocks from historic Main Street. Ruth, the manager, was very accommodating and we had a nice quiet room where we awoke to church bells ringing a distance. Great homemade breakfast topped off a wonderful, but all too brief stay. Would highly recommend this quaint Victorian inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GHDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Ruth and the very inviting Inn, my lady and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Nevada City. The Gigi room was the perfect choice for us. Breakfast was wonderful and Ruth is a fine host. Thank you for making our stay memorable and looking forward to next time at the Deer Creek Inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

From the beautiful gardens along a picturesque creek to the clean and elegant rooms, Deer Creek Inn was a wonderful experience! The owner, Ruth, was friendly and funny and made us feel at home. The three course breakfast was outstanding as was the limoncello, brownies and other delights. We'd definitely want to return, and stay longer on our next visit to the region.

Room Tip: Cheryl's room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Deer Creek Inn from Saturday to Monday (three days, two nights) during the Marti Gras festivities. We had a fantastic time. Our host, Ruth, was very nice and the breakfasts were incredible. We stayed in the room above the kitchen (not sure which name it was) and it was a great room, very comfortable bed. We went to the Inn with friends who had a room next to ours with an adjoining door which made it easy to visit with them as we could open that door when we wanted to talk and visit. The sittings rooms downstairs were peaceful and I spent some time sitting there reading or knitting with soft piano music playing in the background. The shopping/eating establishments were a two minute walk away, which was very convenient. This place is perfect for a romantic getaway. We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
110 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
376 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
143 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nevada City Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Property: Deer Creek Inn
Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing