We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bad Weather--Great Accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobb, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad Weather--Great Accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked a late June mid-week stay for my wife's 60th. Who would have thought we would run into two days of rain in Northern California, but we did. The rain, however, did nothing to dampen our stay at the DCI. It has great curb appeal, and once inside you are treated to immaculate accommodations and excellent service. Greeted at the door by owners, Chuck and Elaine, we are shown to our room, Elaine's room. It is one of the best B&B rooms we have ever stayed in. Our entry/exit door leads to a sitting area overlooking a garden and creek. The creek was flowing strongly and could be heard from our room. The room was expertly furnished, and the bathroom had two shower heads and awesomely soft towels. In addition you are literally just a few hundred yards from the main street in Nevada, so you can walk into town. Breakfast A+++...three courses served by the owners, cooked by Ruth. This place was so good we can't wait for a return trip when we can sit outside and enjoy the creek. Bob and Nyla, Cobb, CA

Room Tip: We were in Elaine's Room, totally satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BfC_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
188
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Deer Creek Inn 4 times now, and each visit has been perfection! We have two small children (one with special needs) so finding a place to give us peace and tranquility is very important once in a while. The food is gourmet, the rooms have been redone and are Victorian simplicity at it's best! I love how every room has bath amenities! I dream of sitting by the creek and drinking my coffee or enjoying the innkeeper's great company during wine service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay at the Deer Creek Inn in Nevada City. Beautiful Victorian house with a creek running through the backyard. My husband & I stayed in the Sheryl Room - a very comfortable room with attached balcony. Besides the wine social, breakfast was fantastic - 3 courses, all delicious! The inn is only a short walk to downtown Nevada City...a perfect location.

I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelers071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The Deer Creek inn is wonderful!
Not only is the old Victorian house beautiful & clean, the grounds are serene.
This is a perfect place for a short or long term vacation, when you are looking to relax, relax and relax. Ruth's hospitality and cooking are amazing and for sure will return again.
-Nicole , Reno NV

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersFamily98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are considering a relaxing get-away weekend I can strongly recommend the accommodations offered at the Deer Creek Inn. This B&B is friendly, warm, comfortable and located within walking distance of down town Nevada City. Ruth does a fantastic job managing the Inn and her breakfast will be the best you have ever eaten!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank directshear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a quick get-a-way. The ambiance has returned since the Matroni's have taken over the inn once again. The on-site manager, Ruth, provides a wonderful breakfast and makes you feel so welcome, you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolandandcarols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although I was in the area for business and thus did not get to spend a lot of time at the Inn, I was impressed with the level of service. I needed to leave before the regularly scheduled breakfast, but the innkeeper arranged a special serving time for me which I really appreciated. The location is great; next to a beautiful creek and walking distance to city center. I'd highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Lower floor room had a private entrance and a private patio overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
4.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Property: Deer Creek Inn
Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing