We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return!”
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had never been in the area and were glad we visited and stayed at the Inn. This is likely going on our top 5 list of B&Bs. Room was comfortable, clean and well-maintained. Location is perfect along a peaceful creek and just a short walk across the bridge into town. Ruth is a wonderful innkeeper - friendly, goes out of her way, and she makes a killer breakfast with a nice selection to suit everyone - no need to eat lunch! I realize it depends on the guests, but we felt part of the family at wine "social hour" and at breakfast. Coffee, tea and mini-snacks are out early in the morning before breakfast for the early risers. A mini-fridge downstairs is available for water and soft drinks. Beautiful garden and yard along the creek with several benches for relaxing.

Room Tip: might be a little highway noise on the rooms facing the street so rooms in back facing the creek wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 327 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hands down the best Bed and Breakfast in Nevada City! Right in town close to everything, yet quiet and serene on the grounds. The building is gorgeous inside and out, with a beautiful lawn and chairs that sit right on beautiful Deer Creek. Ruth was welcoming and accommodating in every way.

Room Tip: Right in town, private lawn that goes sits right in Deer Creek, with lounge chairs. Romantic. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Deer Creek Inn was fantastic! The beautiful Victorian house is filled with wonderful touches at every turn. We stayed in ‘Sheryl’s room’ and it was lovely. We only wish we were visiting when the weather was warm so we could have enjoyed tea/drinks on the porch off the room, the lovely grounds, and stream running past the back yard.
We arrived on a Friday after a 6:30 am flight from the east coast into San Francisco. We stopped by the inn to drop off our bags and were on our way. We were pretty tired when we returned to our room about 7 pm that evening. What a special treat to find chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled spilt of sparkling wine in our room!
The inn keeper, Ruth, was superb! She was welcoming and provided recommendations for dinner. Her gourmet breakfasts were delicious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting the Deer Creek Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were delighted by this historic inn with its gardens down to the creek. Our hostess Ruth made us feel at home with conversations about the surrounding area, especially where to find lovely wild flowers along the American River near Bridgeport. Her cooking was an excellent addition to our mornings, and the late afternoon happy hour with appetizers and wine made us feel at home with all the guests. In fact, we all decided to have dinner together at the New Moon
in Nevada City. The city is an easy walk from the inn, too. I wish we had reserved for 3 nights--next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about what a wonderful time I had at the Deer Creek Inn. Ruth was amazing and made us feel right at home. With such a nice atmosphere we made new friends and ended up with an anniversary I will never forget. Room was fun. The grounds are beautiful. And breakfast, well, breakfast was out of this world every morning. If I had more thumbs I would give it more than two thumbs up.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I had a memorable stay at the Deer Creek Inn while visiting the historic gold rush town, Nevada City. We were graciously met by Ruth, the "inn keeper" who showed us to our spacious and charming room on the second floor and invited us to share delicious appetizers and wine with the other guests. Ruth is a former restaurant owner, and the extensive breakfast she prepared was gourmet quality. The Inn's setting near a creek, ambience, and location definitely merit a five star recommendation,

Dr, Gloria G. Harris
La Jolla, California

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and clean. You can't go wrong selecting any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Deer Creek Inn earlier this month while visiting friends in Nevada City. Every aspect of the stay was so delightful we ended up spending more time relaxing at the Inn than we had anticipated!
Ruth prepared delicious, and healthy breakfasts that were not overly sweet or rich. These were served in the gorgeous historic dining room where we enjoyed conversations with other guests. Ruth also welcomed us back in the late afternoon to freshly prepared tapas and a glass of home made Limoncello!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range: $185 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing