We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a lovely 4 day stay ..”
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley
1 review
“We had a lovely 4 day stay ..”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was a real treat. Wonderful hosts, excellent breakfast, fine pre-dinner cocktails hour. Chuck's jokes aren't getting any better, but it's a very fun place to be. Actually, Nevada City is a great town to visit.
John and April

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlong44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
198
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Chuck and Elaine are back and the Deer Creek Inn is once again the place to stay in Nevada City! We stayed for a few days in June and had a wonderful visit. We were greeted like family upon our arrival, and were treated just as well throughout our visit. Many of the rooms have been redecorated and the whole property has been restored to its former beauty. Also back are those wonderful breakfasts that you can only get away with while on vacation! We look forward to our next getaway to Nevada City and will definitely return to the Deer Creek Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Deer Creek Inn to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We have stayed at various B&B's over the years and this one is at the top of the list.

The Innkeeper Ruth is such a wonderful hostess and in a very short amount of time, we felt like she was an long time friend. She made dinner reservations for us at the New Moon restaurant and it did not disappoint. Food was excellent, service outstanding. Before dinner, we got to sit out on the patio deck and enjoy a glass of wine and some appetizers. Ruth bustled in and out, making sure we wanted for nothing. After dinner and a concert, we came back to the Inn and enjoyed the delightful peach brandy with a yummy brownie. We slept in The Sheryl room and slept with the patio door open so that we could hear the creek through the night, it was so tranquil.

Breakfast was amazing, brown sugar sausage, sun dried tomato quiche and a potato dish that was out of this world. Coffee, peach grape juice, a cup of delicious berries with yogurt and granola and a bite size muffin accompanied the meal, finished off with another decadent brownie. We left there not only full of incredible food but feeling like we were leaving a good friend's house where we were treated like family.

We are definitely planning on a return visit and will be recommending this place to all of our friends who want to get away for a wonderful, peaceful retreat!

Thank you Ruth, Chuck and Elaine for such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at Deer Creek Inn for a three-night getaway in June. Two other B&B owners recommended Deer Creek, as we were late in booking and all the other B&B's were booked. They said it was just reopening soon since the original owners were back and the inn was being refurbished. At little uncertain, we followed their recommendation and took a leap of faith. Boy, did that pay off! Being first to arrive on a Thursday afternoon, Ruth, the inn keeper, could not have made us feel more welcomed. It was truly like meeting up with a friend from long ago (and we've never met her before!). She gave us a tour of the entire inn; we would have been thrilled with any of the rooms - so fresh, so clean, so full of charm in an updated decor, reminiscent of yester-years.
The gorgeous setting of this historic inn, nestled in the trees and overlooking beautiful Deer Creek, inspired us to sit in the grassy area under a large shade tree next to the inn, enjoying the peace and tranquility on a lazy afternoon.
We stayed in Ida's room - a room off the back of the kitchen with its own private stairway. (We could have been teenagers, who could sneak in and out at all hours!)
Our room was generous in size, with a love seat as well as queen bed. Each room has its own private bath. The fresh paint, new bedding, and inspired decor invited us to stay and enjoy this delightful room.
Fresh brewed coffee was prepared and ready for self-service by 7:00 a.m. each morning. A decadent breakfast was served at 9:00 a.m., teasing the most sleepy visitor down the stairs with the enticing smells, promising a most delicious meal. And did Ruth ever deliver! Banana pancakes, egg-cheese-corn-and chile casserole, orange juice-soaked french toast with pecans and maple syrup, maple sausage links, cups of assorted fresh fruits including a variety of berries, and other scrumptious dishes - oh my! These irresistible breakfasts served on the patio kept us satisfied long past lunchtime!
Wine and appetizers were served daily on the patio at 5:00 p.m. Ruth has a knack for a snack! As new guests arrived for the weekend, we enjoyed getting to know lovely people from all over.
Ruth took such good care of us. It didn't take long before we felt like we were staying in the home of a dear friend. She gave us dinner and entertainment suggestions, made dinner reservations for us, and allowed us to sit at the bar stools in the kitchen just to chat while she skillfully finished up either breakfast or appetizers. Her assistant, Judith, was a pure delight, as well. So friendly, so hospitable, so welcoming....we enjoyed both women very much.
Would we go back again? You bet! Besides all of the welcoming features of the inn, we were in very short walking distance to Old Town, Nevada City.
Thank you, Elaine and Chuck, for providing an incredible bed & breakfast inn. A special thank you to Ruth and Judith for being the best inn keepers one could ever hope for, providing us with a lovely, memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesnewchapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

It was simply a "Treat" to know that the Original Owners "Chuck and Elaine" are back running the Inn. The high standards have been restored to the Five Star experience that we had experienced in each stay at the Inn. If you are considering a Beautiful Get away we fully recommend "The Deer Creek Inn!"

Room Tip: The Natural Beauty is second to none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim19611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Let's just start with the pictures posted on the website. None of the pictures match the rooms. I walked in to ask to see a room and was amazed that nothing matched what I had been led to believe. In addition, the amenities listed (free wireless internet, DVD players in the rooms, and wheelchair accessibility) simply don't exist. In addition, the title of "Best Bed and Breakfast of Nevada County" wasn't even earned by these people, but by the former owners. That is blatantly misleading at best, lying at worst. The website does promise and deliver peach brandy in the parlor, but, it is my understanding that the special bed and breakfast wine license does not allow this beverage. If they lie about things before I even enter the property, I can't imagine what else might be lurking in the shadows. Grandma always said, "Beware of strangers bearing gifts." You can find a much more gracious and honest experience in town. Stay away from this place.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank NevadaCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deercreekinn, Owner at Deer Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
The Deer Creek Inn has been closed since December 22, 2010. We are the previous owners and are in process of reconditioning the inn and intend to reopen for business in a week or two. We have not had any guests as yet and our web site is under reconstruction. We have served no breakfasts nor have we served any illegal beverages to anyone. The new look of the inn will be published shortly and we hope to once again serve our guests as we have for eleven years.
Chuck and Elaine Matroni
Innkeeper/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I came up to the Nevada City area for the 24th annual Draft Horse Classic, so lodging was at a premium. We decided on this inn because of all the fantastic reviews I read on this website. We booked Ida's room, upstairs, for one night. At $190/night, it was a little steep, but since we don't do B&B's that much, decided to take the plunge. Our room was ok. But it lacked a simple bar of soap in the soap dish, and the basic toiletries; shampoo, condtioner and lotion were all mismatched. The carpeting could have used some freshening up.

On the plus side, Eileen was a charming and informative host. My husband enjoyed the wine social time, but he said the wines were nothing special. The inn does have a small carport where it is safe to park your vehicle. And it is close to town, so walking to dinner is very easy to do, although lighting in town could be a little better.

Breakfast was served at 0900, but coffee was available off the kitchen at 0700. Our gourmet breakfast consisted of a poached pear with a dollop of cream, followed by a zucchini Fritata served with highly seasoned cinnamon applesauce and 2 strips of bacon. This was followed by a baked pumpkin pancake served with a maple-flavored syrup. I'm from Wisconsin so I know the taste of real maple syrup. I'm somewhat of a foodie, so I did not think this breakfast was in any way gourmet.

And for your foodies out there, don't bother buying the cookbook she has on sale in her inn for $20. You can go to the website for the California Association of Bed & Breakfast Inns at www.cabbi.com for all the recipes in this book and more.

We will definitely be attending the Draft Horse Classic again, but this will be our last visit to the Deer Creek Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.3 mi away
The Madison House B & B
The Madison House B & B
#2 of 6 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Property: Deer Creek Inn
Address: 116 Nevada St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing