We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopping point for long trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Colorado River Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Beautiful high desert scenery. Last/first CA hotel on I-40. Easy on, easy off from I-40 with plenty of services nearby.

I have a large family so we reserved 2 adjoining rooms. Everything went well with our 1 night stay- the room was clean and maintained and had a refrigerator, the beds were comfortable. The hotel did not provide a breakfast but they did give out coupons to the next door restaurant. We did not eat there only because the kids love Denny's which was right down the road (next to a Starbucks).

Only one negative for this hotel as I had about a quarter tank of gas siphoned out of my Suburban overnight. I will definitely wait until morning to fill up next time.

Room Tip: I can't imagine this place ever being full so a preferred room is not problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Smitster,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Most of your review sounds right on track. However, It would be very unusual to have gasoline siphoned, as we are very busy and there is always activity going on. We also do not have a Starbucks (boohoo). I also highly recommend making a reservation as we are sold out 90% of the time. We provide a free hot breakfast at our restaurant.
Thanks PC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 891 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great staff on reception. Room was lovely and clean, not the best view as we were on the side of the railroad but didn't find this a problem. We fully expected a disturbed night's sleep but noise was not a problem. Nice pool area, probably not big enough if the hotel was full, but we had plenty of room. Perfectly positioned for Route 66. Cafe next door was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our pool area. We have the largest pool in the entire town and are very proud of out 100k renovation to our pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for five days at the Best Western in Needles for business. My room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning was cold and not too noisy. Every room I think has a fridge with a tiny freezer and a microwave. The shower was great and they obviously have a water softening system, which is great in this part of the country. I was on the first floor and never heard anything from the upstairs rooms, and not much from the parking lot either, which indicates that the noise insulation is pretty good in this hotel. The front desk people were pleasant and they always had some goodies and ice water in the tiny lobby.

This Best Western doesn't do breakfasts in house: instead you get a coupon to go to the restaurant next door, "Juicy's". You only have a choice of 3 breakfasts, but this is a good restaurant.

The TV did not have a lot of channels but they did carry HBO. There is no fitness center, which is a drag for when you are on business, but we were working such long hours it wouldn't have helped on this visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmeepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thank you for staying with us when you were in town for business. You are correct we do have soft water and it is very important in this part of the country. As you know we offer free hot breakfast at Juicys or you have a choice off the menu at a discount. See you next time you are in town.
Thanks Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is in a strange part of town, it has a couple of gas stations, a couple of restaurants (dont bother with the wagon wheel, Juicys seems better) and thats about it... It is close to the freeway tho. Breakfast at Juicys was good, but the crazy deal where you can have anything you like off the menu with 20% off the menu price is at odds with the original option of the comp'd food. If you work out the value of the comp'd food its $2 by that reckoning... just stick with the comp deal as the food was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thank you for your insight into our hotel. As you know Needles is a stop on famous Route 66 and is the perfect stopping place after a day or before a day at the Grand Canyon. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay complete with free hot breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We used this motel as a 'stop off' on our way from LA to Grand Canyon. We booked this on the strength of Trip Adviser comments, and were unsure what to expect from a 2-star rated hotel. We need not have worried - we received a warm welcome at reception, and were quickly checked-in. The rooms are reasonably priced, spacious, clean and comfortable, and the accommodation more than adequate for our needs. Our room was equipped with the usual facilities (fridge, microwave, TV, etc) and had two large comfortable King size beds, Okay, so the rooms are slightly dated and may not have the flat screen TV's, or deep pile carpets of a 4 / 5 star hotel, but overall it was comfortable and safe accommodation.
What was particularly nice about this motel, was the large outdoor swimming pool which was well maintained and clean. We also liked the coffee, popcorn and other 'freebies' provided in reception, the collection of 'route 66' paraphernalia dotted around the reception lounge walls, the 'budgies', and the free parking! Our only criticism was the 'complimentary breakfast tickets for use opposite the hotel in 'Juicy's'. The breakfast was adequate, but we did feel that Juicy's were looking for hotel guests to 'upgrade' to a full breakfast and pay the extra. That said, if you need to stop of somewhere on the California / Arizona border, you won't go far wrong with this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had the chance to enjoy our newly remodeled pool area. Our resident parakeets are becoming quite the attraction and are a bundle of fun. We are working with Juicy's to improve our menu selections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were attempting to find a reasonable hotel on the way to California but not too far past the Grand Canyon. Our friend Cindy said.....are you going through Needles CA. Well we did and were thrilled to cross the desert into California and find this beautiful Oasis !!
The accommodations were amazing! The service wonderful. Pool resfreshing and clean. and the restaurant Juicys Charming!!!! Awesome stop!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Plenty of room at the Hotel California
Any time of year (Any time of year)
You can find it here....
Thank you for the review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay on Route 66.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were very happy with this hotel! Friendly staff, complimentary toiletries & good breakfast, not to mention good location plus great room. Staff even called to see if everything was OK with the room. We will definately stay here on our next journey that takes us through Needles.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunberrysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip on Route 66.
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Needles
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
186 reviews
21.9 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#4 of 13 in Needles
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 13 in Needles
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colorado River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colorado River Inn

Address: 2371 W Broadway, Needles, CA 92363-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range: $101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Colorado River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colorado River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colorado River Hotel Needles
Best Western Needles
Needles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing