We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pets and weary travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for pets and weary travelers”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Rio del Sol has been a regular stop for us, as we pass through once or twice a year with a dog and cats. The staff is helpful, the pet fee is nominal, the doors open to the outside so you can drive directly to your own door. There's a discount for Juicy's River Cafe, just around the corner, but if you're too tired there's a Jack in the Box right across the parking lot. (We aren't usually fast food fans, but at the end of a long day of driving we're all about convenience.) When we aren't too tired we enjoy using the pool and/or hot tub.

I am thoroughly charmed and reassured as to the staff's dedication to a good experience by this fact: within 10 minutes of getting into the room, someone from the front desk calls to check and make sure the room is all right, and to see if anything is needed. I've stayed on business trips at high-end hotel chains, and rarely seen this level of service.

I have 2 small complaints: (1) the in-room coffee is pitiful. At least it's there, but the quality (is it Farmer Brothers? I can't remember) is almost so low as to make it not worth drinking. (2) Some of the room air conditioners cycle on and off and aren't controllable to get a proper heat level. Ours stayed on all night, providing a comforting background sound, but we were a bit too warm. Those are small complaints.

Yes, I've stayed there, and I'll continue to do so, and recommend Rio del Sol to other travelers to Needles.

Room Tip: If you have a pet or pets, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Nancy,
Thank you for visiting again. Your review is a welcome insight to the hotel. I will work on that coffee and see if we can get a different brand in here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    54
    11
    9
See reviews for
74
120
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay specially for the prize.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
We couldn't find a place to eat on walking distance but the pool and barbecue area in the middle was a great place to have our pick nick. O

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you PE for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was looking for a clean and safe place to stay for one night, and Rio Del Sol Inn was the perfect place! Staff was extremely friendly and the room was surprisingly clean and well-maintained. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to stay in Needles for a great price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank solo_traveler_fromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for noticing our attention to cleanliness. Please make sure to stop by on your way through Needles on Route 66
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night based on reviews. The front desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. The room was large and clean and well-cared for. We slept well in the king bed. Pet-friendly. The only con was the tv. Small, older and no 'guide' function on the remote. Not many channels either. But, hey, for $44 per night, it was a great deal.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are gradually replacing TV's and we offer 23 channels. Including HBO. We will be renegotiating our satellite contract at the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here 4 times, convenient turn off from the interstate, rooms are clean, staff helpful, big parking lot in the back for long rigs, RVs. and trailers. Sensible pet policy, three restaurants within walking distance. Needles is a good overnight stopping point between Northern California and Phoenix.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyomingart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the informative review and taking the time to post. We appreciate your business and look forward to your fifth trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stopped in this place for a needed rest after driving from Flagstaff, Arizona. This Inn is on the old Rt. 66 road, of what is left of it that is. The place is not cheap, the rooms are about a 100$ a night. The rooms however were clean and it was a good stopover for a needed rest. The desk staff were pleasant and they let me use the spa even though were about to close it for the night.

They also give out coupons for a restaurant near there called 'Juicy's.' My discount card from Rio Del Sol didn't work that night however. The food was fine though. There is not much to do in Needles except make a stopover while driving. The issue was the wifi service. It just did not work all night and I could not get any Internet reception whatsoever and I have a hi-grade WPA service laptop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethany p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We have addressed the WIFI situation and guests have noticed a marked improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Rio Del Sol on our Route 66 Adventure. It seemed a logical stopping point between Williams, AZ and San Bernardino. A nice long day to visit Seligman, Kingman and Oatman and then the long desert stretch of the Mojave the following day. Needles doesn't have many lodging options and this looked to be the best of them and the safe bet paid off. The check in staff was friendly and gave us a map and the free wifi code. The room was very clean and had menus and area information, which is always a nice touch. The room was a bit sterile with hard floors and minimal decor, but it certainly served its purpose for a quick overnight after a long days drive. The shower was lovely and warm, the bed was suitably comfortable and the internet was fast. The room has a mini fridge and coffee fixins as well. The pool area looked nice and the motel was close to the good restaurants. If you need to overnight in Needles, this is a good place to do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcrouch, General Manager at Rio Del Sol Inn Needles, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. From your review I gathered you were in one of our tile floored rooms. We have plenty of rooms with both types of flooring. Tile rooms are highly desirable during the summer months as they stay cooler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Needles hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Colorado River Inn
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Valley Motor Lodge
River Valley Motor Lodge
#5 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Needles
Days Inn & Suites Needles
#10 of 13 in Needles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Needles
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Needles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Del Sol Inn Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Del Sol Inn Needles

Property: Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Address: 1111 Pashard St, Needles, CA 92363-2124
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Del Sol Inn Needles 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rio Del Sol Inn Needles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles Hotel Needles
Best Western Needles
Needles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing