We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent bargain hotel, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Valley Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Valley Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent bargain hotel, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here on the last night of a cross-country road trip and it was just what I wanted. Very cheap, quiet and the man at the front desk gave me my choice of rooms. I enjoy the no-frills old motel style and this was just what I was looking for. Good AC on a very hot night and room darkening shades that worked without a lot of outside noise in the morning even though my room was right by the pool. Room looked like it was undergoing some renovation so it had newish paint and some artwork but the bathroom was still pretty old style and not in great repair - functional but worn. I'd stay here again if I was going through Needles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is OK, but the pool was dirty and it was not even cool, the temp of the pool must be around 90 degrees, not refreshing at all. The bathroom is dirty and I didn't even want to take a shower. The flat screen TV is nice, the room is big the air conditioner works great and the bed is clean and comfortable. To sum it up, its OK for the price, but I would have paid the extra 25 dollars to stay at Avi casino 15 minutes away in Laughlin Nevada, but they don't accept dogs:(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbieannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Tourists may be scared off by older motels like this, but experienced road warriors will appreciate the history (Built in 1950) and comfort of the large rooms that come with fridge, 27" color cable television, microwave and coffee maker. With only about 25 rooms it's on the small side but that's a bonus in that all the rooms are ground level - no noisy footsteps rumbling across the floor upstairs and no stairs to deal with. Without question everything is newer at the shiny plastic chain hotels, but for a comfortable and quiet room at very affordable prices, I think the River Valley Motor Lodge is the best deal in Needles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

we stays for a few night with so other family members had 2 room that we all lke they were very nice. they had nice bed that were just right and even coffee maker in each room. when i go back to needles that is the only place i will stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beverly668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed in this motel as a quick stopover before heading to Palm Springs. Of course Needles itself has nothing extraordinary to offer - just vast scrubland and miles of isolated road. The motel room was a double, decently sized. Cleanliness left a bit to be desired - the bathroom was nothing short of foul....the shower was a mere trickle of tepid water. The rooms are (luckily) air-conditioned and there is a well-sized swimming pool - although next to the highway and in the gloominess of its surroundings is hardly appealing.
We paid 40 dollars for a one night stay in a double room so there's no room for complaint in terms of price - though personally, I'd prefer to pay 20 extra and sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homaluluParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Needles hotels

Northern Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We chose this motel as it was in our Route 66 guide, it is pet-friendly, and it has a pool. It was 101 degrees at 10 at night so when we walked in our room it was at least 90 degrees and the bathroom was a hot box. But the air conditioner was good enough to cool the room down in no time, and the pool was refreshing. It was not the cleanest motel I have seen, but good enough. The sheets were clean. It is old, but a good bargain for the traveler on a budget with a dog.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agteacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed at this motel during summer break. People were nice and helpful. Pool is amazing. Lots motel pools there are small or no pool at all. Maid service everyday. Fun time with great people. Also met new people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Needles hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Needles
Red Roof Inn Needles
#2 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Colorado River Inn
0.2 mi away
Desert Mirage Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Needles
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Needles
0.6 mi away
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
Rio Del Sol Inn Needles
#3 of 13 in Needles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Motor Lodge

Property: River Valley Motor Lodge
Address: 1707 Needles Hwy, Needles, CA 92363-2503
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Valley Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your River Valley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing