We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop on your river adventure!”
Review of Pirate Cove Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pirate Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Needles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This secluded California oasis is located at the Moabi Regional Park, on the banks of the Colorado River, just 11 miles southeast of Needles on I-40, California. Nestled among the palm trees and surrounded by pristine white sandy beaches, this first-class family destination offers it’s guests luxurious accommodations all situated along Historic Route 66. Whether you are looking for a relaxing getaway or an afternoon refuge from your travels, Pirate Cove offers an oasis that brings you back to a simpler life where you can eat, drink, play, and unwind the pirates way. Pirate Cove offers everything one looks for in a destination vacation or afternoon getaway. For those looking for more adventure, bring your offroad toys out and discover over 3600 miles of offroad trails. Or, set sail on our Boat Tour and explore Topock Gorge and Havasu Wildlife Refuge where you'll find an abundance of wildlife, lava pinnacles and ancient petroglyphs on the gorge walls. Or you can choose to do nothing at all! Just sit back and relax... shaded by thatch palapas along the white sandy beaches of the Colorado River. We are always adding more features and amenities so be sure to check back often.Our Amenities:• On Historic Route 66• Yacht tours and charter• Off-road trails• Easy freeway access• National award-winning restaurant• Pirate-themed beach bar• Seven-lane boat launch ramp• 250 boat slip marina with 24/7 gas dock• Boat rentals and sightseeing tours• Fishing facilities • General store and gift shop• Security-gated dry storage facilities• Free resort shuttle service• Full hook-up RV campsites• Wi-fi available• Children’s waterpark and playground• Scenic nature trails• BBQ and picnic areas Pirate Cove is truly a place in time. If you’ve got the time, we’ve got the place. Pirate Cove invites you to experience this spectacular beachside resort like no other on the Colorado River.
Fillmore, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must stop on your river adventure!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been stopping here since before it became "famous" as Pirates Cove. Its a neat place to park your boat or jet ski and people watch. The beach areas are nice to pull your boat up on and let the kids play football on the beach, etc. There is always a boat pumping the music and girls dancing, and random boats shooting you with water guns, or just tossing footballs and frisbees back and forth.

The food at the restaurant is very good, and so are the drinks. They have recently added several other attactions such as the Zip Line, Plank Walk and Chair Swing. We have never tried them because they are a bit pricy. Pirates Cove is part of the Moabi Park, so you can rent a campground - several right on the river, or you can rent one of the log cabins right inside the Cove.

The launch ramp is fairly easy and I like it because you are not launching direcly into the current of the river, they have cut out a smaller marina.

Just be careful there is alot of boat traffic in this area, and I am always concerened about the people who hang here all day drinking, then get in their boat to go back down to Havasu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mom_to_monkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad ye enjoyed yer time at Pirate Cove Resort matey we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    13
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My mom and I were taking a trip to Arizona and I was looking to see what was near Needles for a lunch break, and I stumbled on Pirate Cove Resort. It was like a mirage! Here we were driving through the desert, with nothing in sight, and here was this great resort sitting barely 1/2 mile off the highway out of view! We had a wonderful meal at their restaurant (on the patio to watch the water and the action) and fell in love with the pirate atmosphere tucked away in the sand. We wished we had the time to rent one of their little bungalows and stay the night, but alas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are glad ye found this hidden treasure and we look forward to you coming again soon. Check in with us on Facebook as we will be introducing a new guided yacht tour through the beautiful Topock Gorge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsumz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Activites were great! Crew is AWESOME! Go and enjoy!!! Try it all! The swing will catch you by surprise, you pull the release and then free fall for several seconds. The Plank Walk...will make you think twice...but ya gotta do it!!! IT IS GREAT!! Zip LIne very fun!! and a Great Crew!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wsumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are glad ye had an awesome time matey and we look forward to you coming again soon. Check in with us on Facebook as we will be introducing a new guided yacht tour through the beautiful Topock Gorge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GoZip at Pirate Cove Resort is a Must!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were staying at Lake Havasu and had rented a boat from Wet Monkey. The Manager there had mentioned to us about zip-lining at Pirates Cove. We are so happy that we were told about GoZip! We took our entire family (Mom and Dad, and our four boys, ages 8, 16, 18, and 20) to try zip lining for the first time. First of all...Pirates Cove is a really cool resort. It has a fun atmosphere and great vibe! As soon as we walked up to GoZip, the gal that worked at their ticket/information booth was very nice and friendly...excellent customer service! We told her we were referred by Wet Monkey and she was kind enough to have Matt (their Manager), come to assist us. He gave us a great package discount. We decided to do their entire zipline aerial circuit, which was about 2 hours of zip-lining (4 different lines). Even our 8 year old Son decided to go for it! This was one of the most thrilling, fun experiences we have ever had! Their zip-lines were so high up, and had beautiful views of their Resort area/beach below, and the Colorado River. All of their staff that assisted us on each part of the zip line adventure (Ralph, Josh, Vick) were all awesome! Since it was our first time (we were a little nervous!), and they made us feel well taken care of, they explained everything in detail, were courteous, and all fun guys that made this such a great day! Our family highly recommends going to GoZip at Pirates Cove in Needles, CA if you want one of the most thrilling, memorable experiences ever! Thanks so much :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad ye had a zipin good time and we look forward to you coming again soon. Check in with us on Facebook as we will be introducing a new guided yacht tour through the beautiful Topock Gorge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique place on the Colorado river”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is very nice and it seems to be a "see and be seen" hang out for all the big fancy boats. I thought their lunch menu could have a better selection, only 5 items to chose from. Its a place to visit at least once, but if you are on a budget its tough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are glad ye found this hidden treasure and we look forward to you coming again soon. Check in with us on Facebook as we will be introducing a new guided yacht tour through the beautiful Topock Gorge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Cove Resort also viewed

Needles, California Desert
Needles, California Desert
 
Needles, California Desert
 

Been to Pirate Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing