We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest street tacos!”

Tacos El Gordo El Tijuana BC
Ranked #105 of 180 Restaurants in National City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
135 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Greatest street tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Each taco is between 2-3 dollars. The food is awesome. The way you wait in line is a little odd, but you deal with it because the tacos are awesome. Service is so so but it doesn't matter here. You are here for the food. The BEST street tacos.
I had the quesadilla- awesome.
The carne asada- awesome too, but to me the adobada tastes better.
The lengua taco is SUPER tender and is not chewy.
They give you grilled green onions, yellow onions, and grilled peppers. There is a bar cart to get the radishes, limes, utensils, and salt.
This place is delicious and don't listen to the other people who gave it bad reviews. You'll hate the wait to order (about fifteen minutes) but it's worth it. Don't order it to take home. It tastes better to eat there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope n Shelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Tacos!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great alternative for TJ tacos. The service is usually fast, it is fresh, and very good. The place is always packed, but the wait is worth the wait. If you are in a hurry they offer drive thru and they are open late which is very convenient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“By Far The Worst Mexican Food Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Terrible, cold, and flavorless. Who ever is giving this establishment high ratings doesn't know about authentic Mexican food. Spend a lot of money and was upset most of the day. Won't make the mistake again of coming back here. I rather eat in Tijuana (which is 15 minutes away) where street tacos are the best, period...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samsonite_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Tacos, Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We saw the ratings for this place and decided to try it. Got there and no one was in line. Stood there and no one greeted us, we waited for about 10 minutes for someone to take our order after we were ignored some more. A couple walked in and their order was taken right away. That is NOT customer service. I dont care if they have good food, if you have S****y service you don't deserve to run a business!!! Yeah, the tacos are good but heed this warning: only go here if you enjoy throwing money away on overpriced tacos and TERRIBLE service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajainyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A flavor explosion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

If you make it to TJ make the time to stop off for some street tacos here. The carne asada tacos here are so tasty. The meat is marinated so the flavor with the onions and homemade guacamole and salsa is a little flavor explosion in your mouth. They also make a quesadilla with the same pork and melted cheese and it is a little bigger than the tacos and same flavors. The tables are covered and there is an inside area but it is so nice to sit outside around the grill area and take in the wonderful thriving feeling of TJ while eating an awesome street taco. It was safe and I know there is a concern from Americas about safety in TJ but I was down for two days and did not feel the slightest bit unsafe. Happy travels!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Gordo El Tijuana BC also viewed

 
National City, CA
 

Been to Tacos El Gordo El Tijuana BC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing