We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I would tell all my friends and family about the great service i got at your hotel. If I need something you guys were always there to help me. Your workers Are very friendly and Outgoing. I would stay at your hotel any time i visit in the area :) Thanks for the Great Service I give you guys a 100%. Have a nice day!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessVee_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

thank you so very much for takeing time out of your day to give us this rave review. my staff and I certainyl appreciate it. hope to see you soon.
Monjika Ganshorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 246 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

hotel was clean, rooms where clean, staff if great, and made you feel very welcomed. i would really suggest this Hotel to anyone visiting in this area.....

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilmoregirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011. The room was not clean especially the toilet bowl which was also not mounted to the floor tightly. Carpet was not clean in the room and was coming up in the halls. The place was noisy all night and this was a Thursday. Guests dogs were in the lobby unleashed. The staff were nice but this place is a dump.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandiegotraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Here is a short and simple review:

1)Location: Close to local stores like CVS, CHASE Bank, and fast food restaurants.
2)Staff: All staff members are courteous and helpful. The front desk clerk called cabs for my friends and I. Also, googled several locations for us.
3)Rooms: The rooms are lovely. As soon as you walk in you are welcomed with candy on the bed. The bathroom had nice marble and the water pressure was amazing!
4)Breakfast: Totally worth getting up in the morning. They had scrambled eggs, waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereal, and fruit.

You get your money's worth at this hotel and a good night sleep! It's rare to come across a hotel were you feel welcomed, safe and at home. This is that hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPinkBarbie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

first of all i like too say i have traveled al over the world and not once have i ever been so upset too find out that my credit card was charged 2 eatra nights and 150 dollers for smokeing in the room first of all i dont smoke and have the start on emphazme secondly i was home in my own bed when this took palce my wife did verfiy it hopeing i can get thease charges off my credit card can anybody help.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gman6131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very satisfied with the overall hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff, very clean, very comfortable with free and ample parking. Expanded continental breakfast with hot food, eggs, sausage, and waffles.Nice location with reasonable prices for San Diego visitors. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim50701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My trip to San Diego resulted from a death in the family. I was looking for a hotel that was convenient, safe, and relatively inexpensive. What I got was all of those, plus a clean, comfortable room and the most compassionate, helpful staff I've ever experienced. From the reservation process, to checking in, to the stay itself, I found that the staff went out of their way to provide excellent service, and knowing my situation, simple kindnesses. Thanks so much to Kim, Wes, and Bobby, as well as the service staff. You made a difficult situation bearable.

As for the accommodations, the beds were comfortable, the hotel was quiet (even on a holiday weekend) the jacuzzi and pool very accessible, a better than average breakfast served, AND I felt quite safe going back and forth. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerylRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Thank you from all of us here at the hotel. We all remember you and and want to thank you for your kind words. I am certainly proud of the wonderful staff here at Comfort Inn South Bay. Kindest wishes to you and your family.
Monika Ganshorn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 National City Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Address: 1645 E Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950-3722 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $114 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will "awe" you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego's biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37" LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing