We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family was on a road trip and we booked this hotel thru hotwire. I was satisfied after paying that we got Holiday inn and for sure it did not disappoint my family. The room was totally redone, very good breakfast, clean, very good location, pool was okey. Merialle from the front desk was very helpfully and accommodating. We will stay here again and I'll recommend it for good value for your money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natspogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City. We are so happy to hear that you had a “great stay.” We are also happy to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary deluxe breakfast. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service as well as making sure we accommodate each and every one of our guest and we are glad we were able to do just that. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to other travelers as well. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South – National City. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
94
43
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Duchesne, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Traveled to San Diego w 25 high school students to chaperone them for their senior trip. The hotel was very accommodating to us. Luis was amazing to work with! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We did not have one bad experience here. The rooms were very clean and updated. I was worried about my students not liking the hotel since we were on a budget, but they were amazed at the quality of the rooms. The rooms even satisfied my pickiest student. Loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again w my students!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City. We are so pleased to hear that we are a “great hotel.” We are also delighted to hear that the staff was friendly and welcoming as well. We did have a recent renovation so to hear that the rooms were clean and updated is always nice to hear. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and well maintained rooms and are glad that you took notice. Again, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two days over the 4th of July. We were very plently surprised at how nice the hotel is and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is clean, the rooms are updated and very nice. The breakfast was very good. We will definitely be staying here again when we come visit family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teetime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Right from the time I drove into this hotel till I checked out, it was a nightmare. The entrance raised my apprehensions. The check in was reasonably ok with no upgrades available for a Platinum member as the property has no suites. I carried my bags to a smelly elevator, getting off to a smelly corridor with dirty old carpets and then onto a two queen bedroom with damp air and old smelly carpets with no place or furniture for the bags, After placing my bags on the floor, I stepped into the washroom that barely had standing room. It was too late in the day (10.30 pm) for a tired traveler to look at other options. Next morning, after an average breakfast, I went online and booked another Holiday Inn Express hotel in San Diego using my points and cancelled my stay at this hotel for the second night. The service for check out was good and I felt like being released from Alcatraz prison as I stepped out. It is shocking how this is even an IHG property and how it has got some good reviews on expedia or tripadvisor. Either those are manipulated or those people have never stayed in a decent hotel.

Room Tip: For a good room, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear psahaye,

Thank you for being a IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We do value all of our guests and I am sorry that as a Platinum member you did not get the benefits that you are entitled to.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor experience and service issues you have encountered. I deeply regret that our level of cleanliness didn't live up to your expectations. These certainly are not usual and we will be looking into these further and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

As an elite member, your patronage and support to our hotel are very much important, as such, we are concerned when we fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartz Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The location doesn't seem the best and that initially concerned me. After entering the hotel, my concerns were quickly quieted. The hotel has been fully renovated with top of the line finishes. Flat screen t.v., refrigerator and microwave was a huge added bonus. The breakfast was a lot better than expected, there was a nice variety. The staff was amazing from the start, Ashley and Brenda were great! The pool is sufficient, but the spa was not fully functional. It's not located off of the hotel, you have to cross the parking lot and you can see the street below you if you're not in the water, but that was not bothersome. The 805 and 5 fwy's are easily accessible from the hotel and you're 8-15 mins from all attractions in San Diego. All in all it was a great stay for my family and the price was very good for the hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maquoketa, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I took a trip to go down memory lane. We lived in the San Diego area (Imperial Beach) more than 32 years ago (husband was in the US Navy). We wanted to go back to the area and visit. After much deliberation we decided to stay at this hotel in National City (not my husbands first choice as he remembered National City as being a rough area). We were amazed on how nice the area around the motel was. The room was amazing along with the breakfast area and check in area. Everything was so clean and very modern. But we both agree the best part of the Holiday Inn Express was the staff. Everyone we came into contact with were all so helpful and friendly. The one person who was the most amazing was Ashley. From the moment we met her she was amazing. We told her we were there to visit because we were in the Navy. She then told us about her husband (who is also serving his country right now). Ashley gave us amazing recommendations for eating and visiting different attractions in the San Diego area. She always had a smile on her face and greeted us no matter how busy she was. We wish we would have been able to tell her how much we appreciated all her help but she was not working when we checked out of the motel. We spent a wonderful three days visiting the area and what helped us to really enjoy our trip was to know that in the evening we had an amazing motel to stay at. We would recommend this motel to anyone who wants a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug and Renea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I book travel arrangements for the company I work for. We are often in the San Diego area. We had a project near the Holiday Inn Express National City. I got in touch with the Sales Manager, Luis Borbon, to help with our last minute arrangements. He is the nicest guy. Luis had an account set up for us, with a good rate, and rooms reserved in no time. Our employees said the hotel is great. As business travelers they are wanting free breakfast, free internet, free parking, a comfortable bed and a clean place to stay. This hotel has all that, plus a friendly helpful staff and a convenient location.They requested that I book them rooms there in the future. I just want to thank the Sales Manager, Luis, for taking care of my corporate travelers with such joy and friendliness. I appreciate his professionalism and the special attention he continues to show us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 629Rose_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
3.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Address: 1645 East Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will "awe" you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego's biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37" LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing