We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for just a weekend and it was really nice. Location was just ok, not much stays open late at night in that area but at least it's close to highway. Rooms were nice and clean. the staff was nice as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for reviewing your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City. I am glad that our location near the highway was convenient and that you found our property “nice and clean". We work hard in maintaining our property and are happy you took notice. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and we hope to have you stay with us again when you are in beautiful San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    71
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
95
44
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Be forewarned! This property has a steep entrance from East Plaza Blvd. If you drive at any sleep at all, and you have too because of the traffic, your car's front air dam is likely to hit the ground when entering this property.

Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. Any interactions I had with the staff were good. My room was on the fourth floor and was in excellent condition. Everything worked as expected. A couple of minor nitpicks however. The only telephone in the room was on the desk rather than beside the bed. There was some sort of a plastic liner under the bottom sheet which made a crinkling sound from time to time. Turning the air conditioner on - even to low fan - caused the window netting to billow up. Interestingly, for some reason or another, the ceilings in the hallways of this hotel are very low, compared to most hotels while in the rooms they are 9 to 10 ft.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear alkonost45,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Me and my family stayed at this hotel when we were visiting So Cali. I was looking for a good deal while staying close enough to San Diego's interesting areas. This Holiday Inn express satisfied this requirement.

Location:
-----------
The hotel is located in National City which is the city south of San Diego. It is very close to Coronado (~6 miles away), Balboa Park (~5 miles) and Harbor Dr (~6 miles). La Jolla is a bit far north (~15 miles). In general, I liked its location versus the places I wanted to visit. However, I didn't like the neighborhood that much. It is not the kind of area where you can go out walking and looking for somewhere to eat or shop. But that wasn't a big deal.

Hotel:
-------
The hotel looks new or at least recently remodeled. The furniture looks new and in very good shape. The hotel in general is very clean, and so are the rooms.

In general the staff are friendly and welcoming. But the front desk employee wasn't available when I arrived and took her maybe 15 minutes till she showed up! But when she came, she was very nice and welcoming.

As many Holiday Inn Express, the hotel provides free Internet, free parking and free breakfast which are all pluses to me. However, the breakfast area is very small and there was always people waiting for tables to free up so that they can have their breakfast. Another problem with breakfast was the rate of refilling the buffet. There was always two or three missing items, and I had to ask for a refill which took several minutes. One time, they ran out of cream cheese at 8am! Even though it wasn't a big deal, I can see room for improvement here.

We were given a room with a connecting door to a neighboring room which was occupied. Honestly, it was a bit annoying since our neighbors woke up earlier than us. While I know if we asked to change rooms, the hotel would agree if they had another, it was a big fuss that wasn't worth it for us.

Overall, the hotel is a good deal when visiting San Diego and I would recommend it if you are Ok with the neighborhood.

Room Tip: There are rooms with connecting doors to neighbor rooms. If you neighbor room is occupied, it can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Bahaa_Osman_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear _Bahaa_Osman_ ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel. It was nice and clean and quiet. We had a view of houses and a power pole so that was a little disappointing.

The lobby is missing the usual stand of local attractions which disappointed us, luckily we knew what we wanted to see ahead of time.

There were at least four filipino restaurants in the neighbourhood so my wife was happy about that.

Overall it was a nice clean hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: The back part of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianreviewer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located right by the 805 fwy, this holiday inn express has clean comfortable rooms, free wifi and breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Stayed there twice this month and its worth it! The price is just right and there are lots of restaurant choices nearby for good eats.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sortos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Actually I booked this hotel with my priority points, one that required fewer points in the San Diego area.... And it was a pretty surprise when we arrived! It is located near the 805, and is a really short drive to San Diego (15-20 min). The hotel looks really new. The room we got was a room with a King bed (really comfy), there was a sofa, flat screen, microwave, fridge, nice bathroom...
The front desk staff was really nice and welcoming, I also got a little bag of goodies :)
The breakfast is included, and as all Holiday Inn's breakfast, is really nice, with scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, variety of yoghurts, bread, bagels... And also, if you get hungry at night (or any time) and don't feel like going out to search for food, they sell some snacks at the front desk, that you can heat up in the micro in your room.
If you are going to San Diego, and don't mind the driving, this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTYMatilda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 9 in National City
190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
3.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Address: 1645 E Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950-3722 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will "awe" you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego's biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37" LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing