We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tappan, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is by far one of my best experiences in a Holiday Inn Express, I allway stay at Holiday Inn but usually inthe full service Hotels. This unit has toped the scale in service, cleanliness, friendly staff and location.
Folks, I recommend this holet to anyone traveling to this city.

Room Tip: Any room is great no matter which side of the hotel. I guess they did a good job on the insulation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
94
43
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

brand new hotel .well located,free parking and breakfast,helpful staff ,rooms and hotel decor tasteful,comfortable room and very nice clean bathroom and shower,enjoyed the bathroom amenities divine!!!if they maintain cleanliness will definitely stay here again !also we got a very good rate!so real value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saradurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Typical Holiday inn express. I would not hesitate to stay here again if needed. It would be nice if they had a bit more of a toiletry selection. Not a bad location/not a great location. A few decent restaurants in the general area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 kids. We went to Sea World and the Zoo good location not too far. Good price nice room. Had a funny smell when we walked in but when way soon. I forgot my tickets, they have a buissnes center where I was able to print them. Nice staff. Forgot my toothbrush called front desk sent a complementary tooth brush and toothpaste to the room. Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TORRESFAM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews and cheap price. The hotel was ok. Won't stay here again because at the pool area was a lot of smoking people. Price is good and room is clean,thank you to the front desk ! Thai food down the street near IHOP was great dinner!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuhi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was an OK hotel for my 2 night business stay. Nothing special. The hotel itself is in not such a great area with not alot around to eat or do unless you like a couple of fast food restaurants. Overall it was clean, other than the elevator. The girl up front was friendly when I arrived. Other than that if you dont need to stay in or near National City I would pick a better hotel.

Room Tip: Unfortunately either side of the hotel you stay isnt the best for sleep quality or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing some time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City. While we are happy that you found us to be an “ok hotel” we are disheartened at the same time that we were only an “ok hotel.” Although you found our location to be in not “such a great area,” we continue to work hard in providing guests exceptional service and quality rooms and are glad you took notice and told other guests that your overall stay was “clean” and that our front desk staff was “friendly” when you arrived. Again, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a great hotel!! Booked a couple rooms here for 2 nights, and everything was excellent! The rooms were spotless...the decor nice, and bright, and bed was very comfortable. There is a nice size fridge, and a small microwave. The front desk agents were helpful, and friendly. The fitness room was one of the best I have ever seen, and had more than just 2 pieces of equipment.The hotel is near restaurants, and stores...Walmart was just down the street. The hotel was very easy to get to from expressway. I have no complaint's, and would definitely stay here again when in San Diego!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South - National City. We are happy that during your stay, ‘everything was excellent.” We are also delighted that you enjoyed our completely renovated hotel and noticed the spotless rooms, the nice and bright décor, and our comfortable bed. As you mentioned, our guestrooms includes a microwave and refrigerator and are happy that you took advantage of these amenities. We are fortunate to be located near restaurants, stores and the freeway, and are glad that you took notice as well. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#3 of 9 in National City
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
3.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Address: 1645 E Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950-3722 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will "awe" you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego's biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37" LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing