We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Clean and friendly, it is very obvious that the entire staff is concerned about the quality of your stay. Have traveled all around the world and stayed in many hotels, you can not beat the staff that is in this one!!
Great job!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQCguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you so very much. Im so glad that you took the time to say such nice things. We have a lot of pride in this hotel and the staff definetly shows it. Again we thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Monika Ganshorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
93
43
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have stayed at this particular Comfort Inn a few times. My stay there is always so pleasant. The staff is amazing, there all so friendly, helpful, and willing to go above and beyond for guests. The hotel it self has all the amenities you'll need, its a really comfy environment, its clean, and the pricing is great. Thank yous are must to the whole staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City. We appreciate your continued loyalty and we are so glad to hear that you are happy with our complete renovation. To have you say that our “rooms are clean, spacious and full of amenities” are wonderful things to hear about our property. As you mentioned, we do offer free parking, as well as a complimentary deluxe breakfast. Our breakfasts includes fresh pancakes, signature hot cinnamon rolls, sausage, bacon including biscuits and gravy and are glad that you took advantage of it. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service so to hear that from our front desk to our house keeping staff are some of the best you have ever encountered is very heartwarming. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express South – National City. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

I would tell all my friends and family about the great service i got at your hotel. If I need something you guys were always there to help me. Your workers Are very friendly and Outgoing. I would stay at your hotel any time i visit in the area :) Thanks for the Great Service I give you guys a 100%. Have a nice day!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessVee_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
thank you so very much for takeing time out of your day to give us this rave review. my staff and I certainyl appreciate it. hope to see you soon.
Monjika Ganshorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

hotel was clean, rooms where clean, staff if great, and made you feel very welcomed. i would really suggest this Hotel to anyone visiting in this area.....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilmoregirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011. The room was not clean especially the toilet bowl which was also not mounted to the floor tightly. Carpet was not clean in the room and was coming up in the halls. The place was noisy all night and this was a Thursday. Guests dogs were in the lobby unleashed. The staff were nice but this place is a dump.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegotraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Here is a short and simple review:

1)Location: Close to local stores like CVS, CHASE Bank, and fast food restaurants.
2)Staff: All staff members are courteous and helpful. The front desk clerk called cabs for my friends and I. Also, googled several locations for us.
3)Rooms: The rooms are lovely. As soon as you walk in you are welcomed with candy on the bed. The bathroom had nice marble and the water pressure was amazing!
4)Breakfast: Totally worth getting up in the morning. They had scrambled eggs, waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereal, and fruit.

You get your money's worth at this hotel and a good night sleep! It's rare to come across a hotel were you feel welcomed, safe and at home. This is that hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPinkBarbie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

first of all i like too say i have traveled al over the world and not once have i ever been so upset too find out that my credit card was charged 2 eatra nights and 150 dollers for smokeing in the room first of all i dont smoke and have the start on emphazme secondly i was home in my own bed when this took palce my wife did verfiy it hopeing i can get thease charges off my credit card can anybody help.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gman6131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Address: 1645 East Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will "awe" you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego's biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37" LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing