We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this motel if all possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn National City
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in National City
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Avoid this motel if all possible. I was planning to stay here for a few days but changed my plans and stayed only 1 night then moved next door to the Howard Johnson. The first problem was they charge for the room when you check in. So your stuck staying at this motel if you want to or not after checking in. And this is where it all starts. As I was walking to my room on the second floor the garbage dumpster is right there and there's a person digging through it, that did'nt really bother me but what did was all the bird "POOP" everywhere I mean EVERYWHERE... Next to the stairs, next to my room, in the parking lot and I don't mean just a few drops, BUT A LOT and it has to been there for quite a while. I had mentioned to one of the housekeepers why don't they clean up the "POOP" she said she dosen't know. When I got to my room it was'nt any better. It had a bad smell, the refrig. was dirty, and the bath tub had rust in it. When I finally went to bed I was awoken by someone outside fighting with I don't know who. It lasted about 20 min until I saw someone from the motel go outside and talk to the people fighting.
Went back to sleep woke up went down to have the free cont. breakfast which consist of a packaged pastry and a cold cup of coffee. The only upside about my stay was the free Wi-Fi...That was it for me. NEVER AGAIN will I stay at a Rodeway Inn.. I would rather sleep on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osddop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2008

This hotel is at the worst location in National City. The room was smelling like hell and the space was very less. The beds were not well made and the blankets were nothing but mess. I got reaction on both of my legs and arms ( red itching pimples).
In the name of brekfast they were offering a piece of bread and
soda (that also limited). I messed up my whole trip because I and my wife got itching pimples on our legs and arms.
Also, I was not feeling safe because some the people who
were staying or came to stay were looking Street Bums.

Not a Good place to stay guys. Avoid this place like plague.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chauhandhiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio_G_G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara171090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se hospeden en este hotel, esta muy sucio e infestado de CUCARACHAS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
2.4 mi away
Super 8 National City Chula Vista
4.5 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#12 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn National City

Address: 607 Roosevelt Ave, National City, CA 91950-1134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn National City 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a limited service budget hotel with a great location just off interstate 5 in National City. Within walking distance to eateries and we have off street Free Parking and Free WiFi and Free Continental breakfast with In-Room Micro/Fridge and Coffeemaker. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National City Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing