We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was unsafe, absolutely unsanitary and had horrible customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn National City
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in National City
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On thanksgiving we booked two rooms: both the rooms were disgusting. After discovering the roaches in the first room the hotel clerk gave us another room but even then it was the same situation. This location was absolutely horrible. Roaches in the bathroom, semen stained bed sheets, uncleaned rooms, drug dealers in the parking lot, prostitutes on the premises- do I need to go on? One thug looking man approached my daughter and harassed her about what room she was staying in. I mean this was by far the worst hotel experience ever. The management was rude and horrible they even had the nerve to try and deny Expedia for our money back. Needles to say that we did not last more then an hour before we evacuated that hellhole and got our money back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are very sorry for your experience you had here at the Rodeway Inn. We are under new management, All of our rooms are nice and renovated. They are very clean and we invite you to come and try us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn National City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed at this hotel because every other hotel had no vacancies (we didn't realise there was an event in San Diego when we visited)

I have stayed in some cheap and nasty hotels in my time but this this is way beyond that. The room was filthy, sheets dirty and cigarette butts on top of the shower. The air con sounded like it was going to explode but at least that drowned out the sound of the traffic and unsavouries that were loitering around the car park.

Even if you are desperate for a place to stay, I'd save your money (we paid $140 a night) and if you have a car sleep in that!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for the review, You stayed during the biggest convention of the entire year and our rates were competitive or lower than those arund us. We have since renovated this hotel and it is nice new and clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After reading everyone else's reviews, I don't know if I was just fortunate or what. The room was decent with a soft bed and cable. Free Wi-Fi and a comfortable chair and desk, plus fridge and microwave.

On the other hand.... the customer service here could be a lot better. Enough said on that. The customer service could be a lot better. And so could the housekeeping. The bed was uneven and poorly made, and I found a candy wrapper sitting under the AC unit. I was okay with taking care of these myself, but bottom line: It's their job, not mine.

Nearby amenities are limited. You have an AM/PM service station, but there is a decent Italian restaurant behind the motel called Napoleone's. Very good lasagna. Also a Jack In The Box less than a block away next to the AM/PM. Anything else is about a mile away on Highland Avenue.

Good place to stay in a pinch, but if you're looking for a place to stay around Naval Base San Diego or National City, you can do a little bit better.

Room Tip: Only tip is to reserve online.... trying to stay here in the past, they almost NEVER accept walk-ins...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishman_usa1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We have taken the info given in these reviews and made many changes. We have updated and renovated this property, new beds and amenities as well as 32" LCD Tv's, free continental breakfast and free off-street parking. We are right next to a freeway off ramp and have easy access. We are trying to make this property a better property with better customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
LA. CA. USA
1
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Roadway was the worst place I had ever stayed in . Out of fiftyfour yearsI have never been in a place like that. There holes in the blanket and the certains. I made reservations for a non-smoking room they lied and said that they did not have one . Then he told me that I could get and non-smoking room the next day and that did not happen. I will not advise a dog to stay in that place and I will never go there again .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

This entire hotel has been upgraded, beds, linens, appliances etc. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I don't normally write these because all reviews have good and bad however for this one people need to know! Do not stay here the manager is the rudest man I have met in my 2 years of travelling! He ripped us off and laughed at it! The place is scary with dodgey men outside every room and it looks like a place from a thriller film! The manager doesn't deserve Anyones money!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Since this review, many years ago we have had some sensitivity training and we have upgraded our breakfast and renovated the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived and there were prostitutes and the place was trashed. We didn't even check in. Four of the five cabs wouldn't pick us up from this location. BAD BAD part of town. we went to Porto Vista in Little Italy and the price, rooms and location were great. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zach P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate the review it is very old and we have a ZERO tolerance policy and have many families that stay here. We are a limited service budget hotel and the Porto Vista is a 3 + star restaurant onsite with complete renovations starting at $109.00 + tax a night. NO we do not compare with that, however we have worked very hard to upgrade this property and make it safe comfortable. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Smallest hotel room I've seen and the beds looked old and dirty. Not to mention the ghetto people drinking and smoking you have to pass on the way to your room. Felt uneasy the whole time. Thank God it was only for one night. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank almondbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We have new beds and complete renovation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
2.4 mi away
Super 8 National City Chula Vista
4.5 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn National City

Address: 607 Roosevelt Ave, National City, CA 91950-1134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn National City 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a limited service budget hotel with a great location just off interstate 5 in National City. Within walking distance to eateries and we have off street Free Parking and Free WiFi and Free Continental breakfast with In-Room Micro/Fridge and Coffeemaker. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National City Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing