We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada San Diego National City
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in National City
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here! Staff was very nice and helpful. We liked that they had security on guard all night, a very cute one I might add. Also the free shuttle was great, they have a 5 mile radius which will get you to the Gaslamp Quarter. Definitely will be staying here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickey0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale V, General Manager at Ramada San Diego National City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so happy to hear that my staff provided you with the kind of service you have come to expect with Clarion Hotels.

I am also glad to hear you took advantage of the shuttle and got a chance to see the gaslamp district. The shuttle runs free from 6am to 11pm every day.

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, I know you have many choices out there, and we are glad you choose us. We look forward in seeing you on your next trip to the San Diego area.

Warm regards,

Dale V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    50
    28
    23
See reviews for
66
67
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I requested a water view upon arrival. We were told that we would have to wait 2 and a half hours for the room with a view. The view turned out to be of a port full of ships- not the beach. Next we noticed the a/c was making a rather annoying banging sound ever 3 seconds or so. When my husband brought this to the attention of the staff, she was apologetic bit offered no explanation. The pool was a nice size and so was the hot tub, but both were cloudy. Plus part if the jacuzzi jets didn't work. The outdoor furniture and towel service was better than expected, however the location left the pool area quite noisy and not very relaxing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale V, General Manager at Ramada San Diego National City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Michelle R.,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. As you know our hotel is not on the beach, but we do have great views of the ocean and harbor, and of the ships. I am sorry you cant see the beach from our hotel. Our pool and spa area are on the street level which unfortunatley you do get all the street traffic. The jets do all now work, and the pool and spa are crystal clear. I am not sure what happened that day.
I do hope that the rest of your stay in the San Diego area was pleasant and enjoyable, we hope that you will come visit us again.

Sincerely,

Dale V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel is like a motel, with its exterior corridors, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The location itself is nothing to write home about, but it feels safe, and it is not far from downtown San Diego. The San Diego skyline can be seen from the top floors. The trolley stop is about a ten-minute walk, making everything in downtown and Old Town easily accessible. The staff is very friendly and courteous. There was no complimentary breakfast, but the hotel restaurant serves continental and full breakfast. The Wi-Fi wasn't working for which the staff apologized profusely. The room had a mini fridge and a microwave. Overall, a good value if one is planning to spend most of the day outside anyway.

Room Tip: The room location doesn't matter as all windows open to exterior corridors. Still, the side fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1001_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Spent three nights at this hotel. The shuttle service from and to the airport was great! ( thanks, Dave!) Everyone at this hotel was friendly, efficient and it was clear that new management has set high standards. Our room was on the 9th floor looking out over the city. The room was spotless and the king bed was heavenly. The restaurant offerings were delicious and very reasonably priced. If you're looking for a great hotel, skip the high priced hotels in San Diego and stay at the Clarion!

Room Tip: Room facing the water are lovely but noisy with the highway. Rooms facing the city are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently stayed here for a junior roller derby championship. We received an excellent group rate, reservations were easy and check in was uneventful. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They run a free shuttle within 4-5 mile radius and have a large parking area. The restaurant had very good food. The pool and hot tob were simple, clean, and easy to get to. The rooms were newly refurbished, beds very comfortable and rest of room very nice. Great place for a great price! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms to back side (away from harbor) were a little noisy at night from street below. Also if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cr8zykittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The word hotel is a loose term to describe this property, which is actually more of a motel with outdoor room entrances. The shuttle service is excellent to downtown San Diego and to and from the airport, and makes this property worth staying at. My room had stained curtains and chair cushions, but was otherwise clean. Service in the restaurant was inconsistent but overall not bad. Wifi service is good and refrigerator and microwave are convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpatrickgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean with comfortable bed. Great customer service and accommodations were very nice including convenience of a shuttle to/from downtown San Diego. Service desk employees were always pleasant ...Jayson was a delight and very helpful :) We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank speedracermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,124 reviews
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego National City

Property: Ramada San Diego National City
Address: 700 National City Blvd, National City, CA 91950-1124 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego National City 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel(R) National City San Diego South is located near all the best attractions in San Diego. Navy Base San Diego, Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego, Downtown Gaslamp District, Convention Center, Petco Park and San Diego Airport are only 10 minutes away. Entertainment venues, restaurants and shopping centers are nearby. Tijuana, Mexico is just a short 15 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National City
National City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing