We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada San Diego National City
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in National City
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our stay was in August 6 and 7, 2012. It took us a while to write this review because school and work started after we got back home and this trip was a 2-week road trip which included days in Disneyland and the beach. Let's start with the positives: the rate was amongst the cheapest; hotel had a good view of the bay which we enjoyed and the female desk staff who checked us in was pleasant. The negatives do outweigh the positives which is why we are giving this hotel a 1-rating and we are never staying there again: neighborhood is a dump; we saw "questionable characters" in the neighborhood; 2 police cars were parked across the street (we were speculating about the reasons for that); the security guard was rather brusque and the room could've been cleaner- there was dust on the exhaust fans in the bathroom and bedroom. The worst part was the conversation my husband had with this rude, unprofessional and infuriating front desk clerk. It was day 2 of our stay and we went to the beach. Upon our return at around 5pm, our room hadn't been cleaned. My husband called the front desk to inform them about this. This is what happened: overnight, we hung up the Do Not Disturb sign because we wanted to sleep in. Still, at 10am, there was this loud, obnoxious knock on the door by the housekeeper. Before we left, we made sure to remove the DND sign and the housekeeper was still on our floor cleaning the other rooms and she looked right at us as we were leaving. We thought that she would return to our room to clean it based on our experience with any other hotel that we've stayed in and we usually stay in hotels about once a month, usually at Holiday Inn or Best Western. My husband talked to a male front desk staff whose name was Joshua (if this is the Joshua that a previous review is referring to as somebody no longer working there, that's good news). Joshua handled this complaint in the worse way possible, laughing at my husband as he was trying to explain the situation, telling us that it was our fault that our room didn't get cleaned because we hung up the sign and ignored the 10am "courtesy" call from the housekeeper and that we should have talked to the housekeeper or called the front desk as we left. When my husband told him that we didn't find that necessary since the housekeeper was still on the floor cleaning the other rooms and she saw us leave. We felt that it was just a cheap and easy way out of cleaning another room when she could have easily double-checked. This happened to us at a Howard Johnson in SD and they immediately apologized and issued us a refund of the amount for cleaning the room since they didn't have anybody who could clean the room at that time. All Joshua said that room cleaning is a "courtesy" service and is not included in the room charge. When my husband asked to speak to a manager, he said there was none on duty. To date, that was the worst experience/conversation we've ever had with a hotel employee. Upon our departure, we did not have the time to seek out the manager to discuss this issue. As we were leaving the parking lot, we noticed the housekeeping staff gathering for a group picture. We couldn't help but think about how the housekeeper's story did not coincide with our story and in my husband's conversation with Joshua, you would think that Joshua was accusing my husband of lying about the timeline of events. In our experience, you can hang up the DoNotDisturb sign but as long as you're out of the room before 12pm (and we left at around 11am and the housekeeper wasn't done with the whole floor), your room would still get cleaned. They would even notify you of the latest time your room could be cleaned and they double-check with you instead of assuming that you don't want your room cleaned and expecting you to be the one to inform them. We believe it's the hotel's job to make a stay as pleasant and smooth and as a guest, you shouldn't have to worry about making sure the hotel staff does their job. It's not like we were expecting the type of service beyond what other hotels in the same class and price range deliver. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and we would not stay there ever again even if we had to pay more for another hotel. In this case, you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cecille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

i stayed at this hotel not long ago needs to get better security at night and maybe kick all the homless and prostitutes bad reputation .. but other than that i would say okay .. i had meeting there for organo gold i would sayy that the sales lady that attended me named nicole i think didnt really understand me when i talk to her .. but its okay i really aprecciate the setup guys there always there to ask if everything is okay , i think its the dad & son working there their very nice.
front desk was kind of rude but im okay not a biggie but other than i would be stayying here

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've been staying at this hotel since before it was the Clarion, when it was a Holiday Inn. I can give a very accurate review for this hotel. I'll just list the ratings that I'm including and you can draw your own conclusion.

SERVICE - This is easily the best trait for the Clarion South Bay hotel. Most of the staff have worked here for years, and are quite pleasant. The front desk and restaurant staff in particular do seem to care about their customers. The "Joshua" person you've heard mentioned in some of the more negative reviews isn't working here any more.
VALUE - It is what it is, a borderline 3-star hotel with enough amenities to keep that rating. This hotel has a small pool area with spa, some public computers, and a part-time restaurant service. The biggest downside to the value of this hotel is the terrible wi-fi that is unreliable and constantly disconnects. A person claiming to be the manager said you can get an ethernet cable from the front desk and connect that way. While this is true, it's still extremely sluggish. Connecting via ethernet only prevents the disconnects. To me, an avid internet user, this is unforgivable for a hotel in the year 2012. My best guess is they share out a single DSL line and it ends up being slower than old 45K dial up for the guests.
SLEEP QUALITY - If you're facing the bay, you can hear the slight hum of highway traffic. Other than that, the beds are greats and the a/c in the room does its job.
CLEANLINESS - I've stayed in multiple rooms and each one needs new carpet. The bathrooms do have mildew in them, and are looking very old. A lot of the furniture is looking old and worn.
LOCATIONS - If you walk to the convenience store close by, it's not uncommon to have bums beg you for money or get propositioned by prostitutes. While not terribly dangerous, this area of town is definitely run down.
ROOMS - Clarion didn't really update anything or renovate the rooms a whole lot after they took over from Holiday Inn. It will devalue your stay if you're picky.
SPA - Pool/spa is acceptable. I don't swim in it, but I've looked at them and they're decent.
BREAKFAST - All the food at the restaurant is a bit over-priced and of average quality. The hours are 7 am until 11 am and 5 pm until 10 pm, so if you miss those times you're on your own.

Overall, this hotel lacks in a lot of areas but they do have decent to very good customer service and the beds are quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratattat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have to start by saying, if you are looking for a hotel in an upscale neighborhood, this isn't it. However, once you get inside the hotel I think you'll be pleased. It's an older property, but they keep it clean and updated. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are accessed like a motel from the outside, not from a hallway. But the rooms were clean and updated with granite sinks. They had free sample size toothpaste and body wash in addition to the lotion, shampoo and conditioner. The hotel also offers free parking, which is great for San Diego. It's just a 10 minute or less drive from downtown/gaslamp, so the location is great in that regard, just not a nice looking neighborhood surrounding it.

The bed and pillow was VERY comfortable! It was a bit noisy outside, but we kept the fan on all night, which created a good white noise barrier.

We booked this hotel through a Groupon deal. We got a free breakfast with the deal and the breakfast was wonderful! Tasty food - and you could substitute egg beaters! Bonus!

The hotel offers a shuttle service within a 5 mile radius. (includes downtown) The last call is 9:30 pm.

I would stay there again for a "deal."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingIsFun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We picked this hotel while visiting San Diego as it was close to the city and easily accessible via rental car. The staff was Ok. We booked through travelocity - no breakfast included in our package. Parking is available for free. There is a significant difference as one travels from the lobby to the room w.r.t. cleanliness and ambience - it decreases. The room wasn't clean as expected and we found a few stains on the walls and rest room. The door knob of our room was also damaged.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HemantR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Ramada San Diego National City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear hemant24,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are pleased that you stayed at our hotel during your trip to San Diego. We do apologize that the level of cleanliness did not meet your liking and our Housekeeping staff with be informed of this matter. Unfortunately, we do not provide complimentary breakfast. However, we do have a restaurant on property for our guests to enjoy with a wide variety of foods to satisfy everyone's hunger. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked in at 10pm for a short overnight. The hotel resembled a dirty dated hotel. They advertised coffee, a bar, and breakfast - all a joke as the bar was closed. No coffee at 7am and no breakfast until 8:30

Garage filthy. I wouldn't even take shoes off in the room. The sheets did seem clean...

Oh and the neighborhood is down right scary

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherryRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Ramada San Diego National City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear sherryRTR,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay apologize that your stay at our hotel was not a pleasant one. Our South Bay Cafe hours are open for breakfast at 7:00am-11:00am and dinner at 5:00pm-9:00pm. Our bar, South Bay Cantina is open from 5:00pm-10:00pm. Coffee is served in our restaurant and is offered complimentary throughout the day when the restaurant is closed. Our management team will be looking into making sure that our hotel does continue to be clean and comfortable for our guests. We apologize again, but thank you for informing us so we may make our hotel a better place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A lot of complimentary reviews make me suspect that review padding is being done by those who have a stake in the hotel. I have stayed at the Hotel and here is what's real about the place.

Pros: Very close to Hwy 5., Affordable, Reasonable degree of cleanliness and class.

Cons: Neighborhood is nothing to write home about. Anyone from the street can walk into the hotel from the door from the Parking lot (No card access!). Fridge didn't work. They replaced it promptly but the hotel staff that came to replace it spoke Spanish only. They tell you that they don't have complimentary breakfast but they do. They have complimentary breakfast but it is removed when the restaurant opens at 6:30 AM. That is a bummer!

For middle class folks who want to save a buck and want comforts close to what they have at home, this hotel is good. The unrestricted backdoor access takes away a lot of points though. This issue must be addressed by the Hotel Management.

Room Tip: Ask for a Non smoking room if you care for one. They don't ask you or assume you want one. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sailaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Ramada San Diego National City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Sailaani,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are happy to see that you found our hotel affordable, clean and well kept. We do apologize for the misunderstanding but unfortunately, we do not offer a complimentary breakfast. We do however, have a restaurant on property called South Bay Cafe that is open for breakfast from 7:00am-11:00am as well as open during dinner from 5:00pm-9:00pm. With 24-hour surveillance as well as security throughout the hotel, we reassure our guests that safety is one of our top priorities. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego National City

Address: 700 National City Blvd, National City, CA 91950-1124 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego National City 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Ramada San Diego National City is located near all the best attractions in San Diego. Navy Base San Diego, Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego, Downtown Gaslamp District, Convention Center, Petco Park and San Diego Airport are only 10 minutes away. Entertainment venues, restaurants and shopping centers are nearby. Tijuana, Mexico is just a short 15 minute drive. We also offer complimentary Guest parking, wifi, and local calls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National City
National City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing