We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in National City
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently and was quite disappointed with the experience. The hotel is located in a traffic busy area and the rooms were poorly sound proof. It was really noisy in the room, esp. in the early morning. The rooms had horrible ventilation and I could smell a strong disinfectant scent throughout my 2 night stay. Also, I did not feel safe in and around the hotel because of its "motel-like" layout and the poor neighbourhood its located in.

Oh yeah, there was NO hot water for a couple of hours either.

This is probably the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel.... feels like it should be "2 stars"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Jay742,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience here at Clarion Hotel South Bay. Safety is one of our top priorities for our guests and we provide 24 hour surveillance as well as security during the night to continue to provide excellent safety procedures. We do apologize for the noise as well and we hope that in the future we could have a second chance in making your stay a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
57
63
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Please read my honest opinion on out recent stay at this "dump." First of all, we drove 5 hours from Las Vegas to get here and tried to check in at 3:00pm which was their standard check-in time. We got denied our room due to the fact that the rooms weren't finished being cleaned yet....okay so how is that our fault? don't you think you guys should have faster and more efficient house keeping staff???!?! not only that but the front staff were rude to my GF and I, no apologies or anything, just told us to sit down and wait it out.....oh yeah, we sure did wait it out, 45 minutes to be EXACT, still no sorries or anything, not even an offer for water to cheer us up and we were damn tired from the drive. The only nice guest services staff that was nice to us was a young girl named Brandy, the rest seemed like they were too good to help out a military couple. Especially the older hispanic lady with the curled long hair and the gentlemen beside her with the short spikey blonde hair, all they did was give us looks like we didnt belong at their hotel or something. We only got our room after 45 mins of waiting after trying to cancel our room we booked 3 months in advance.......freaking ridiculous.

The location of this hotel, let's just say I was born and raised in San Diego after moving to Las Vegas in 2008....and National City is no paradise, it is was locals would call "Ghetto."

Now.....this is what shocked my GF and I the most, MOLD.....mold was visible everywhere in the tiny bathroom, the ceiling...the walls....it was disgusting. The wallpaper was peeling off and underneath was....more mold. We both definitely will never come back to this cheap hotel ever again and would NOT recommend this establishment to any smart traveler out there....please be warned guys.

Once again though, we would like to thank Brandy and Russell for their help and care through out our 3 night stay there, the younger ones seemed to care the most about it's guests. Customer service should always be a priority in this type of business.

Room Tip: just stay away from this hotel and spend the extra money on a quality one, it'll save you a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear alan b,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. As much as I would like to hear good comments, bad feed back will also help us improve any problems we might have here at Clarion Hotel South Bay. I will look into all of your comments and make sure they are all taken care of. There is never any reason to wait to check in or mold anywhere. I will also make sure that our Front Desk staff are informed about your comments. I hope we will get another chance and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these National City hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and my first impressions was that it seemed to be more of a motel than a hotel. But that was fine, as we were in an good location (MTS Buses and trolley stops are close), we drove (lots of free parking) during our stay and the fact that we weren't right in San Diego was no bother as it was a 10 minute car ride away.
The staff were very friendly and super helpful with anything we needed, they changed our room with no complaints when we were too close to noisy the AC unit. The free wifi was a bonus but it was very slow and kept on dropping in and out at some points while we used it.
The room was spacious and clean, the shower was a good pressure! There is a fridge and a microwave and plenty of space for your suit cases etc. Awesome views from the outside corridor to the San Diego Marina/Harbour :o)
We ate at the restaurant the first night and it was tasty, but choose to explore and eat out the remaining days of our stay.
This is a basic hotel and in a decent area (nothing untoward), there isn't much else to say about it. Stay here if your on a budget (good price around May time) and dont mind not having a luxurious hotel. My main thing when picking a hotel, is the cleanliness and upkeep of the place, although this isn't a new hotel it has been kept well and the rooms are clean and serve a purpose.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the San Diego harbour :o) and on a high level as the AC unit is extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indee1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Indee1026,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay apologize that you were not as pleased with our hotel as we would of preferred. It is good that our staff was able to assist you with your room change and also that you enjoyed our South Bay Cafe for dinner. We appreciate the comment on being a clean hotel since we try very hard to keep our hotel up to date. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you come and visit San Diego and possibly see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

view was great!
location was perfect!
-Coronado Island was AMAZING!
food was okay...
fridge and microwave!!
the best part was customer service. we were at the pool and brought the towels from our room so they, without asking, walked up to us and gave us more towels :]

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Nina l,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are so pleased that you had such a great stay. All your positive feedback is truly appreciated with the rooms, location, and our customer service. We make it our job to make sure every guest leaves as happy as you did. Thank you again and we hope that we get the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Clarion Hotel South Bay very much.
The staff was extra nice and checked us in fast.
Our room was both spacious and clean.
We were quite comfortable here.
The hotel is close to major roads and freeways.
From Our room we had a nice view of the surrounding area.
The hotel has a nice restaurant, but we chose to
go out for breakfast at a nearby "Dennys."
You can park your car for free in the hotel lot.
I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Ken C,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay at our property. It is wonderful to hear that our staff was able to accomodate you with your quick check in and that you enjoyed your spacious rooms with the view. Thank you again for such a positive review and we hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
national city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stay at the clarion all the time, I love that its pet friendly, has pool , hot tub, work out room and a cafe with a bar!! The view is really gorgeous and the staff is sooo friendly. They always are very clean and big rooms with nice beds.

Room Tip: go to the clarion very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay love hearing how you enjoy your regular stay with us and use all the amenities that we have to offer. It is a wonderful feeling to know that you come back again and again for our hotel and our staff. You and your dog are always welcome! Thank you again for your wonderful response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for two weeks and found the accommodation very conveniently situated. You can get a bus/tram pass for $5 a day, there are bus stops all around and it does not take long to work out the routes, the shuttle will take you and collect you within five miles of the hotel. You can hire a car if you want to travel further afield. The staff happily accommodated a request to change rooms when we first arrived as the dock side was a little noisy for me as I have sensitive hearing. The staff provide lots information and great recommendations of things to do and places to see. The staff are all really helpful, friendly, attentive. All staff seem genuinely happy and customer focused which makes this a great place to stay and it seems a lovely place to live. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely two weeks : ) Natasha and family, Hampshire, UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear tashab7,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We at the Clarion South Bay are very pleased to know that you were able to enjoy your two week vacation here at our hotel. We are thrilled to know that our staff were able to assist you so well with planning things for your vacation and providing information about San Diego. It is wonderful that you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary shuttle service as well as the San Diego Transit System. Our management team will make sure our staff is informed of all your positive comments and thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you come back to your home away from home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#219 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South

Property: Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
Address: 700 National City Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Clarion Hotel South Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel(R) National City San Diego South is located near all the best attractions in San Diego. Navy Base San Diego, Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego, Downtown Gaslamp District, Convention Center, Petco Park and San Diego Airport are only 10 minutes away. Entertainment venues, restaurants and shopping centers are nearby. Tijuana, Mexico is just a short 15 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National City
National City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing