We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“15 Minutes from Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“15 Minutes from Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here to save a couple hundred dollars per night during our vacation visit San Diego. Our visit included the usual tourist destinations in the San Diego area. Turns out the hotel is right off I-5, and is an EASY drive to any park or downtown destination. We never had to drive more than 15 minutes to get to any destination. Even though the hotel is off of I-5, it is not "next" to I-5. We experienced ZERO freeway noise even from our outdoor balcony. As this is a new hotel, the condition was perfect, and the cleaning staff kept our room spotless. The pool is pristine, the cleanest of any hotel pool I've every been in. The only drawback of the pool is that in the mid-afternoon the pool becomes shaded. Use the pool in the a.m. Long story short, this property turned out to not be a "compromise" at all, but a blessing in disguise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    220
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
247
166
36
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I think this is the best deal in San Diego. Clean, nice - no parking fees. People are very nice and I am so happy with my stay. I thought I lost my flat iron and the front desk staff seem to really care. Was glad when I got home and found that I never took it.


Highly recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinderTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I was here 5 days for a business meeting and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the decor. Every room has a refrigerator and microwave. Albert checked me in and was extremely knowledgeable about the area and things nearby. It is not on the beach; however, there are beaches less than 15 minutes away by car. The board room is nice (seats 14) has up to date technology. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel. I will definitely stay again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Felicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I'm still at this hotel. Spent the last two nights here. Bang for buck value at this hotel is high. Located in less-desirable, S.D. suburb National City but hotel feels safe as it is geographically insulated but still accessible directly off the I5.

Great - value, cleanliness*, new hotel, friendly staff, easy access and close to S.D. attractions.

Not as Great - poor wireless internet connectivity in rooms, hot tub cleanliness* (it was not shocked after our first night (bubbles, body oil and slightly malodorous - I relayed this in the am to front desk and they didn't remedy the situation as it was exactly the same last night when I went to use it). Food at on-site restaurant not great but will do in a pinch.

Overall - totally good value but you can find lots of great hotels in better areas with the same value. I've seen hot tub water way worse than this but there's no excuse for it not being shocked every night, especially when being reported by guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDeerHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went to a concert in Chula Vista and stayed at this hotel more for the location than anything. But we were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. They have a great pool, clean and semi-spacious rooms with a coffee machine, fridge, flatscreen TV and desk area. The staff was also very friendly and helpful, they arranged a taxi for us to the concert. WiFi was a bit spotty, hard to keep a solid connection, but other than that, we had a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a "view" of the freeway, so if you'd prefer better scenery, I'd recommend r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We picked this hotel because we did not want to pay handsome charges to San Diego hotels for weekend rates. But then we discovered the nearby National City port was worthwhile spending time at. Looked like this city was being transformed into something beyond a transportation hub. But it's not there yet, there was not much business around the hotel, we had to drive to the other side for things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hwa-Chun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

professional business environment, clean, reasonable. great place to stay if you need to be just outside of downtown San diego, but still need easy commute to downtown. Convenient train service 2 blocks away. no hassle location without traffic and parking issues. decent restaurant next door and others nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank michealga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing