We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff and Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been to the San Diego area 4 times in the past 14 months. The last three have been at this hotel. We have decided this is our hotel of choice in the area. The staff goes out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and it is easy to get anywhere from there. The 5, 54, 15 and 805 freeways are all accessible within 5 miles of the hotel and it's near the trolley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Willie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    220
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
247
166
36
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I do not recommend Room 409. The overall hotel was nicely appointed, clean and what I was used to for BW. However, there was a motor we could hear that ran 24/7 that was obnoxious. We think it was the air conditioner for the hotel up on the roof. We were just under it and it rumbled in the bedroom and bathroom. In the bathroom, there was a whoosh of cold air that shot out from under the sink cabinet that chilled the room and our feet. Not nice. As in the other reviews, the wireless Internet connection was a problem. Since we had but one computer with us, we asked for the wired connection and it worked just fine. We followed the suggestion to hang the towels for reuse, but everything was changed every day anyway. Not cool. When we mentioned the broken sink plunger and faucet washers, they were promptly repaired, but no one seemed interested in whether we were happy about the motor noise. The purpose of the trip was to meet with a family member who was failing and this was very stressful. I had no energy to deal with changing rooms late at night upon our return. Not that anyone suggested this. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Coronado and the Chula Vista Discovery Nature Center. Both are great destinations, however, there are a dearth of good restaurants nearby. A pancake house, a steak restaurant and a family Italian place were close by but after that we ate while we were out and about. In Escondido, Lucia's restaurant was great and Arrivaderchi (spelling?) in Hillcrest was fabulous. Would I stay there again? No. The loud train whistle and the huge heavy trucks rumbling outside the rear of the building interrupted our sleep. The street for the hotel is the gateway to the port of San Diego with all the commercial activity that this entails. I made the reservation directly with the hotel clerk and wish he had been more forthcoming about the situation. He mentioned we would see commercial yards in the distance from our window, but did not mention the train and other noises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for Comic Con weekend - it was one of the few hotels left with more than 3 star rating on Expedia. I liked that it had free parking and a refrigerator and free wifi. I think I would have rather paid for all of those amenities after physically staying at this hotel. Upon check in, the front desk guys were really nice. However, when going into the rooms, the bathtub was still dirty from the previous occupants, and the bedsheets had hair all in them. It was DISGUSTING! We called housekeeping to come and change the sheets to new sheets. The walls are so thin that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in your neighbors room and in the hallways. The housekeeping people like to stand in front of the door at 7AM and speak Spanish out LOUD and you can hear people running back and forth upstairs. We were on the first floor, room 111. If you can deal with all of the above, then you should stay at this hotel, otherwise, DON'T!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreajung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely apologize for your experience at our property and we appreciate you providing us with feedback. We take great pride in being one of the top hotels in the San Diego area, and I want to personally apologize that your recent stay did not reflect this. We will be sure to follow up with our entire staff at our hotel and we will use your feedback as a training tool. As you can see from our previous reviews, this case was out of the ordinary and guest satisfaction is our most important goal. Thank you for the time you spent responding and we will continue to strive to do a better job of taking care of our guest’s concerns.


Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was nice, but secluded. Not many restaurants in the area. Hotel didn't provide breakfast and the restaurant next door was just okay. Would be nice if it had free breakfast like most hotels now-a-days. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Large room with king sized bed,microwave,fridge and views of the harbor.Internet worked fine and had a business centre for printing boarding passes.The staff there were very friendly and extremely helpful.No continental breakfast,but after travelling for 6 weeks,it made a change to eat at the restaurant next door.Close to highway,but not so close that the traffic keeps you awake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a positive review. We appreciate your compliments and feedback in regards to our rooms, internet and staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.


Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
270 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Room was great, good sized King room, clean, nicely furnished in a slightly above average way, bed was okay and looked nice. Staff was excellent, even with the internet problems we experienced. Location worked well. Hotel and grounds were clean and it seemed to be well taken care of. Nice pool and exercise area. Bit pricey, but this was San Diego in June and hotel was full, so we felt lucky to find it and the rate probably reflected that. No food close, except for Buster's across the parking lot. We enjoyed everything, except the wireless internet access. Fortunately, our room had "one" wired access point that we were able to use for one computer. This was a major inconvenience as we could only use one computer instead of two, but it at least prevented our trip from being a major disaster! We would probably NOT stay here again, UNLESS, we could be guaranteed that they had resolved the internet problems! Everything else was great!

The major disappointment was the wireless internet. We were there three nights and wireless internet was bad, inconsistent and sometimes totally absent during the entire three days. Both my wife and I are very computer savvy and we need to use the internet simultaneously both in the morning and evening each day. To facilitate this need we usually travel with two laptops and two iPads. We have used them all over the country to connect to the internet and in a multitude of properties and locations. We know most of the tricks to improve our internet access when things are marginal. This property has multiple wireless routers so you have at least two choices, usually more, to connect in all parts of the hotel. They deserve big Kudos for that!!! We always had "Excellent" connectivity!

However, the throughput or bandwidth appears to be grossly insufficient for this size hotel. When we arrived, we immediately found that all of our computers were experiencing the same problems. All were able to establish an excellent connection to the router, but none were able to access the internet, except for brief periods. The Tech support number is prominently posted in each room! Another Plus! We called tech support several times and were always answered in a reasonable time. However, they were never able to resolve the problems except for brief periods, the longest being an hour. We were given various explanations as to what the problem, the main one being (on the second night) that they had problems with the entire system and were sending someone to the hotel to reset everything. This finally after 24 hours of problems that we were personally aware of. We also checked with the front desk in person and heard them telling us and other guests that the internet was out and that a technician would be there soon to fix the problem. About an hour after this, a fix apparently having been done, everything worked well for about an hour. Then we were right back to the same problem until we checked out after another day and a half. We were frequently running a test on the internet using "www.speedtest.net on all computers to verify what we were seeing. Often there was no internet access, even with an excellent connection to the routers, and speedtest would not even run. When it did, it was often so slow that dial-up would have been faster. This was just very frustrating for a hotel of this quality to have problems persisting over these three days.

The only saving grace, mentioned earlier, was a wired access point for the one computer. We heard numerous reasons, from both tech support and the front desk, as to what the problems were and heard so many stories we have no idea where truth laid or if anyone rely had a clue! They need to resolve this permanently and quick! Wireless internet access in no longer a luxury, but a necessity!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenmanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback for our hotel. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with our wireless internet access during your stay with us. We agree, wireless internet access in no longer a luxury but necessary amenity for our guests. Your satisfaction is important to us and we use the feedback our guests give us to implement improvements and offer a better experience for our guests. Our hotel has recently upgraded our wireless internet equipment to ensure our guests have the best wireless internet access. Along with upgrading our internet equipment we have also increased our internet bandwidth. We appreciate your feedback and we hope that you will consider staying at our hotel again.


Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I normally stay at a competitive chain. My contact in SD recommended this property. I was skeptical but since I wanted to make nice with this client I stayed there.
Excellent choice!!!
My first indicator of good quality was how the front desk solves problems. There was a loud person in the room above me and when I asked the gentleman at the front desk he said he was on it and if they didn't quiet down he was going to aks them to leave. I never had any other problems.
My room was clean, large and very well appointed. The design was superb. I know...that's my business.
I wil stay there again. The trip was successful and I am looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the west side to avoid any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here at our hotel. We are honored that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for mentioning our hotel’s design, we truly value your compliment. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient for you as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your compliments and feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.

Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing