We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Nuevo, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upscale Best Western”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed on a Friday night. The king size room was just that ... it was big. The hotel is very new and everything is perfect. I especially liked the walk-in shower. The was NO noise problem as mentioned in other reviews. The staff was very friendly and attentive to my needs [extra pillows]. The entire property is non-smoking which is a definite plus for me. It is very close to San Diego at a more reasonable price. I had my own car, so transportation was not a problem. However, the light-rail transit system is quite close and serves the San Diego area from the border to Santee. If you are interested in trolleys, there is a museum across the street in the old National City Depot building. The restaurant on site, Buster's Beach House, changed ownership recently and the problems from the past seem to have been resolved. This is a great property. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snavdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    236
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
271
171
39
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotels in San Diego are too expensive - better choice here.
Carpets in 3rd floor hall has bad smell.
Polite, helpful staff. Made sure we had towels in the pool. Sent some sanitary napkins upon request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MAILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel, wonderful service ....great location. The room went beyond our expectations....it was very spacious with 2 queen beds plus a seperate sitting room with an additional T.V...The staff was knowledgable and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jbryan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

easy to find location, very clean & neat. yes we got good sleep, it's so quite. how about adding breakfast too? i was amazed at finding an upscaled hotel of your category. thank you, we surely will come back.



  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ARTHUR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a top of the line Best Western. Convenient location, new and nicely decorated adn furnished. Quiet, comfortable, and secure. This was a great location from which to visit my son and his family, close the the Interstate. Would definitely stay here again. The restaurant next door was good, and had great music.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDriftWoods24477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Address: 800 Bay Marina Dr, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing