We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best reasonable priced hotel South of San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Best Western Hotel Marina in National City is our preferred place to stay in the area. My wife attends fiestas several times a year in this area and we always stay overnight at this hotel.

The hotel is nearly new (I think like 3-4 years or less). Thus the grounds, rooms, furniture, etc. are in great shape. The rooms are nicely sized with desks, chairs, microwaves, and refrigerators. There flat screen TVs and free wifi.

Next door is a bar/restaurant - Busters. When staying at this hotel, I make a dinner of the happy hour specials (great tacos and quesdilla) and have a few beers.

Good points : Good hotel for the National City area, close to the freeway, new hotel, free Wifi, good exercise rooms.

Bad points : Last stay the wifi did not work in the room (there is a wired connection also). There is not much to walk to around the hotel other than Busters, Denny's, and an In and Out. Some may consider the hotel pricey compared to cheaper and lower quality alternatives.

To summarize, we will continue staying there several times a year since we have never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: If you care about internet access, bring an ethernet cable or test the wifi before unpacking to insu...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 714 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Im not from san dieago, im from hawaii, im here on at 5 month work trip. Being away from home and family is very hard, but I would like to say when I come back to the hotel from a very long day at work it is a great feeling when I walk in to the lobby and the front desk employees always make me feel at home, calling me by name, and just always being so nice. After a hard day of work I love it coming back to my clean room. Just want to say thank you to all the staff at the hotel. Front desk employees are great. From #419. With a great view.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very friendly workers here. Great place to stay because it is real close to everything. Very good service I have had nothing to complain about for the past 2 months I have been here. The staff here try to make your stay as comfortable as they can like a home away from home especially if your on a long trip. Just a great overall experience enjoying everything about it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eight-0-Eight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The room was very nice with microwave, mini fridge, safe etc. Pool was not heated but they did have a nice hot tub. They did not have free breakfast. Just minutes from downtown San Diego. If you are looking for a good time visit Busters next door they play fun music and have a sports bar. They do have a close Wal Mart and several food places.

Room Tip: The bar across the way plays loud music at night you might want to get a room further away from it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived Friday afternoon, an hour after check in was available. The room wasn't ready. Waited about 10 minutes but wish we'd waited another 30 because the bathroom had long black hair all over the floor and a wadge of it in the toilet bowl. They cleaned the bathroom while we went to Busters next door. Jeff on the front desk was very apologetic and attended to the issue in a timely manner, so all appeared OK.

The aged peanut on the floor under the easily moved (roller-feet) foot-stool gas us further qualms that the standard of cleaning was sub-par.

The room was quiet as it was on the north side, away from the live music, which is played outside Busters, facing the hotel, with a handy cone-shaped area at its back to amplify the sound nicely ;-) The beds are pillow-top, but the underlying mattress is on the firm side, so hip-pain was a joy to wake to. The easy chair is the most punishing hotel chair I've ever had the misfortune to try to sit on - its near-upright back and overall hardness meant the office chair was a far better bet for seating.

There's no supplied hair drier in the room - very odd for a "plus" designation. Glad we brought our own so we didn't have to call the front desk!

Had no luck with the wi-fi on my iPod Touch - the login page didn't respond and the signal was at one dot or non-existent. They need to invest in some signal repeaters that actually reach the center of the room at the very least!

Sadly, the flush lever on the toilet meant it stuck open, so we told the new shift on Saturday and were assured it would be fixed. It never was.

On our return from the Zoo on Saturday, we found that the bath was in the same shape as when I stepped out of it - no signs of any cleaning there. No shampoo replenishment, either. Again, glad we brought a travel-size assortment or that would be another call.

Yes, Busters gives a 15% discount for hotel residents. It's a 50 or so yar walk around the hotel entrance greenery so it's no biggie, but in the rain... Food's an Ameri-Mex mixture. Breakfast was good, evenings not so good - go elsewhere unless you're into the music.

Having stayed at 7 or more Best Western's, one expects something tangibly "Plus" when selecting a "plus"-designated hotel. The newness of the hotel is good, though don't believe the "brand new" still on the BW web page description as it's over 2 years old, so it isn't a musty old place like some other BWs I've stayed in.

If you like to spend your stay in the fitness center and pool, then you'll likely rate this hotel higher, but when staying in San Diego, one usually visits the sites in preference to a hotel with a non-existent view, 100 yards from the I5 freeway.

Room Tip: Your choice - E/SE = live music on Friday/Saturday, or go the quiet route on the N/NW.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Upon my arrival at the reception I was greeted by an extremely friendly young employee who was more than helpful in explaining the city of San Diego, the local attractions and making recommendations for the best local places to eat!
The room itself was absolutely spotless and of a nice size and had a pleasant view of the city.
It was approximately a $30 cab ride to the gas lamp quarter which was the closest area to go for the best evening entertainment.
The San Diego zoo, mission beach and the uss Midway were all within a 20-30 minute drive from here.
I would highly recommend this hotel for an affordable stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMikeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited our kids and grandkids in Chula Vista and didn't want to kick anyone out of their bed so we booked the Best Western. It turned out to be a delight and only four miles from their house! Great room and friendly staff!

Room Tip: No free breakfast, but good restaurant across the parking lot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
215 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Dr, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $119 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing