We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean, distant area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Rooms are clean and nice. You'll need to drive 5-10 minutes to get pretty much anywhere interesting, but that shouldn't be a problem if you have a car. There is a trolley nearby that goes to San Diego downtown, but we didn't use it.
Nice restaurant just beside it. Maybe noisy in the room if there is a live music evening, but it was just once and finished at 10:30pm.
Our room was close to the back door exit and we could hear people coming and going occasionally. Beside of this - it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Don't take a room close to the backdoor. Otherwise it may be a bit noisy because of people comin...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, you were made to feel very welcome by the staff who were always really helpful. The rooms are very nice and suited our requirements and they are cleaned to a very high standard each day.

We have noticed others complain about distance from places and that you need a car, we found the San Diego Trolley service which is 5 minute walk from hotel or the hotel can transport for free, more than adequate for our needs, very reasonable in price, we only needed the car to visit the Zoo and Seaworld.

Was not overly impressed with food in restaurant near hotel but there are others also within walking distance.

Room Tip: The rooms are very good and we chose a Deluxe Room and was very pleased with what we were given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and i love to travel and we are not consider to picky when we choose what hotel to stay and before we book one we like to received true advices from travelers like us so that's why i want to describe my experience by being honest so the reason of what i don't give 5 starts to this hotel is because we didn't like the National city area i mean the hotel is locate it away from the main city and that speaks by it self but it also has a great restaurant once you get out of the hotel were the play live music so can't complaint about that but overall the hotel was super clean front desk was really helpful too bad the hotel didn't offer breakfast for the price they charge and we also think that this hotel is more for business customer then for family !!!

Room Tip: Ask to get a view of the pool instead of a parking lot !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelife2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first trip to the San Diego area and we were not sure about this hotel but it truned out to be great. It is about a half mile from I-5 so there is easy access but you don't get the highway noise. The staff, especially Albert, could not be more friendly and helpful. Whether it was directions, a good place to eat, or any other information they were more than happy to help. The rooms are very clean and everything is still very new looking. They don't have a restaurant in the hotel but there is one just across the parking lot , "Buster's", that has a good breakfast and you get a 15% discount if you show your Best Western room key. This hotel was great and for the price it was excellant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnovak5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night when my wife was in labor because we live on a boat at Pier 32 Marina and wanted a more comfortable place to hang out before our son was born. The room was large and clean. My wife took a bath to relax. The hotel is located close to I-5 and 54, providing easy on and off access. We requested a late checkout and got to check out at 1pm. The restaurant next door is Buster's Beach House and they have great fish tacos and happy hour menu. Other reviews mention that it's not close to a marina, but you can take a 10 minute walk south and get to Pier 32 Marina where there's a restaurant that serves lunch and to a park. A 10 minute walk east, then north under the 5 gets you to the trolley that can take you south to Tijuana or North in to San Diego.

Room Tip: This is the closest hotel to Pier 32 Marina. We recommend that our guests stay here when they come t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here one night. Hotel was quiet and Ok, although in the middele of nowhere. No marina seen, no beach seen, ... Like to thank the receptionist for the tip of the Mexican restaurant.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked this hotel using several sources. Don't let the "Marina" fool you, it's not really in an area visitors can walk to a Marina. It's a shipyard. The hotel is very conveniently located right off Route 5. Only a few minutes south of the city.

The room was nicely appointed, looked newly remodeled. Everything was working and comfortable. The windows open, nice touch to catch a breeze. There is a side entrance/exit (keycard required), which made coming and going through the curving corridors much more convenient.

There is no restaurant on site, but the coffee maker, microwave and fridge was a bonus for the price. There is a restaurant next door. Our dinner there was moderately priced and the service was excellent. The menu is extensive - something for everyone.

The business center is nicely appointed with 2 computers. Free wifi in the rooms is also nice. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the end will hear guests coming and going through the side door at all hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockTIlUDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Dr, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: $112 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing