We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprising gem”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here because it was the cheapest 3 star hotel we could find on hotels.com. It had a couple rough reviews about customer service but we had nothing but good encounters with the employees here. Hotel is located right near enough the 5 freeway for easy travel, but not too close to be loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room or a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    240
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
276
172
40
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I can't say enough good things aboutthe service here the room is spotless and the satff is very helpful. They offer free laundry sevice for business travelers. Easy on and off the free way

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We take a yearly trip to Coronado and we decided to leave a day early and just wanted a place to crash for the night since we would be arriving at around 8 p.m. I read some reviews and liked how close it was to Coronado so it seemed good and very well priced. My wife was scared that it would be a dump and did not want to feel unsafe. What a pleasant surprise the place was very nice and very secure. The rooms were better then expected and very clean and comfortable/New. The resteraunt accross the parking lot had a very good breakfeast. Note the bar at night that is next door does play loud music but the desk told us it went off at 10 which it did.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel meets all the highest criteria! Beds are wonderful! The staff go out of thier way to do what ever possible situation might occur! The atmosphere and attention to detail (fresh towels always on hand at the pool and a BBQ when requested!) and the decor are all condusive to a very relaxing stay no matter what reason you are in town. I have stayed now at this hotel 3 times (over 25 days total) and found consistent,excellent and friendly staff in housekeeping/maintenance and very importantly the front desk! Immaculate rooms! But don't forget to ask for an ethernet cable if the hotel is full, this will guarentee fast internet too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

great staff at THE best hotel in the area. staff went to great lengths to take care of me and my coworkers, going above and beyond. i highly recommend this place. nice, clean rooms in national city!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

New hotel. Spacious rooms - very clean. Buster's Restaurant next door is a fun sports bar - very casual - food good and fairly inexpensive. Hotel rooms have microwaves and small refrigerators. There is no breakfast, unless you order room service which comes from Buster's. Can see railway tracks from some of the rooms, but we didn't hear any trains during the night. Only about 6 miles from the San Diego Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Although this hotel is in a very convenient location for visiting San Diego (right off I-5) and features free parking and clean modern rooms, I would hesitate to recommend this hotel given the extremely loud live music that takes place every Friday and Saturday evening at the restaurant located across the parking lot. The band plays until 10:30 pm and it is incredibly disruptive. There is nothing the hotel can do about the music, especially when the hotel is fully booked. I wish I had known about this before booking as I would have chosen another hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jlg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorruthers, Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing the Best Western Marina Gateway for your accommodations. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and I am sorry you did not get to enjoy the music at Busters Beach House. It has been a really positive atmosphere for our local community and hotel guests. We did speak with the owner of the restaurant and shared your comments with him to ensure the music is not a disruption to our guests. I really appreciate ALL of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Address: 800 Bay Marina Dr, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing