We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Platypus Wine Tours
from $129.69
More Info
from $129.69
More Info
from $129.69
More Info
Reviews (6,420)
Filter reviews
6,420 results
Traveler rating
5,846
454
75
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,846
454
75
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour picnic lunch great lunch napa valley fun tour new friends small group private tour first stop army mike driver couples van host itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 6,420 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

We went on a tour with Jerry and 10 others. When we’d looked at the best way to get around Napa (considering driving and tasting fees) we opted for Platypus and it didn’t disappoint. We were picked up in an air conditioned bus, with an endless supply of water (good for a full day of drinking), introduced to our other tour members and off we went. We visited 4 different wineries, all very different. Tasting fees were at most $15 and many waived with purchases. It was great to hear some of the stories of the wineries and the highlight was Tudal Winery. Lunch was provided. We definitely couldn’t have got round so many places alone and we had a great time doing it. The only criticism would be that at the wineries we went to, a lot of our hosts didn’t really talk much about the wine/flavours, it was just arrive and pour. But would highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank 578sophier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Cheers, Sophie: Thanks for your comments! Jerri is one of our more acclaimed guides, and she deserves it. Every single day she arrives for work up-beat and enthusiastic for her tour day. She is quite well-liked among the wineries, so they are often bending over backwards to get her to bring her tours. This usually leads to awesome experiences for her guests. Sorry that the winery personel did not spend more time with you; that sometimes happens in the busy season (many wineries are running a little short-staffed this year). Our guides are trained to step in and pick up the slack when that happens. Hopefully, Jerri did that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

I highly highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to go to wineries and learn the history of the valley, see different ways of how the wine is made and stored and see how different the wineries are managed. In one day, we got to experienced 4 different sizes of wineries, all with different approaches, all out hosts or “wine educators” were great! Melissa our tour guide was incredible, she kept feedings us food and water throughout the day. This tour includes a tasty lunch which was great after drinking so much wine and being in the middle of wineries that do not serve food. I had a great time and I met an incredible group of people and even we went out for more drinks and dinner after!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank U7937WQdianag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Hey Diana! You did a great job conveying the flavor of our tours - thank you! I agree that Melissa is truly a top-notch guide! I'm also pleased to hear you loved the wineries she chose, as well as the picnic lunch. You are so right about the group dynamic of these small join-in tours: folks really bond, and the comraderie just elevates the entire experience! Many of these groups end up getting together for dinner after their tours, and I just love that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

This was my first time trip to Napa and my host at AirBnB that I stayed recommended Platypus Tours and the host was right.

I had the best wine tours ever and our guide/driver James was very knowledgeable, kind and new the best wineries to take us.

Since our group was small, the members on board the bus soon became friends and we chatted AND tasted some great wines.

As did my host, I strongly recommend this tour !

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank hirokoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Thanks for that great feedback, Hirokoby! I'm also grateful to your lodging host for referring you. Our Join-in tour is actually able to pick up from a great many air B&Bs, now (not all of them though - call to check). James is yet another one of our guest-favorite tour guides. He is a warm-hearted and earnest guy who works like crazy to make everything seem seamless for his guests. I am delighted to be working with him!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Great experience. We really had a very nice experience. We visit 4 wineries. We met gray people. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

It's a known fact that once you've had enough wine, all people with begin to look at little gray to you. No it isn't. I swear I don't know why I just wrote that... Hopefully, you meant the people were 'great' and the dreaded autocorrect got you! Thanks very much for your feedback! Please come again; we promise to try and be more colorful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful tour with Melissa. She chose 4 distinct smaller family run boutique wineries for our tour. Simply the best. She was extremely knowledgeable about the wines, vineyards and surrounding area. This tour provides food in the form of a cheese plate after the first winery and then a lunch after the second winery visit. There is plenty of water to drink as well so you are still cogent and standing after 4 wineries ! Thanks for the perfect tour Melissa and Platypus.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2019

Yeah, Melissa! I agree that as a tour guide, Melissa is magical. She is so charming and passionate about this region, and about wine that I get nothing but rave reviews about her tours. Thanks for posting, Suzanne; I hope we'll see you again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews