We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a better way for visitors to enjoy wine country”

Platypus Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 232 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Wine Tour. Join us on a Platypus small-group wine tour of the Napa Valley, the Sonoma Valley or the Russian River / Healdsburg wine country! You’ll visit four charming, backroads wineries, be served a picnic lunch in a winery setting and learn many interesting tidbits: local history, culture and wine making. Our specialty is intimate, fun and memorable wine tours. This is a social tour for folks who are interested in tasting some of the world’s most celebrated wines, but are not necessarily wine experts. Hotel pick-up included. Tasting fees not included. Last-minute inquiries are also welcome! We offer private tours as well. Did we mention, fun?! TCP-21230-P
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't think of a better way for visitors to enjoy wine country”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I highly recommend a Platypus Tour as an ideal way for visitors to enjoy a day in the wine country. It's the complete package. We saw a variety of interesting wineries that we never would have found, or had access to, on our own. Samantha, our guide, was interesting and helpful. We didn't have to drive and we had a nice and fun group of fellow visitors to enjoy wine tasting with (8 of us total). The lunch and snacks were terrific. I would definitely do this again when in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel714CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,889
    398
    64
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“If you only do one tour in Napa...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our guide and host Army was amazing. Genuine, funny, knowledgable and engaging. HelenaView winery was exceptional. A great way to spend the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
“Great Tour, Great Time”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had an excellent time. Started as strangers ended as friends. Visited top small wineries and were treated like special guests. Thanks Karl

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjwebcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best.Day.Ever. Army is wonderful :)”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great wine, great people, awesome tour guide, and beautiful scenery.....what more can you ask for!!? This is our 2nd time in Napa and had previously done 2 other fabulous tours with other companies. I was a little nervous that nothing could outdo our past experiences, but Platypus and Army really delivered! He was extremely knowledgable, fun, and very plugged in to the Napa community. He was cracking jokes with us immediately and really seemed to genuinely care about showing us and the 8 other guests on the bus the best Napa had to offer. Highlights for us were Eeden (gorgeous picnic lunch overlooking Spring Mountain) and Helena View. Charlie at Helena View was by far my favorite wine country experience I have had thus far!! He was chatting and sharing wine with us like old friends and we absolutely LOVED his wine (so much we bought a case!)

The other reviewers are really spot on when they talk about the bond you form with the guests, we were all best friends by the end of the day and couldn't have imagined a better crew to be with :)

From start to finish the platypus company was great and even offered to give our guide the places we had previously visited, so we could try all new places. I can't say enough good things about this tour or Army! Army, thanks for giving us an unforgettable experience and top-notch service!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Book this tour NOW. It was worth every penny we paid. We went on a tour with Terese (Ms. T) and she picked some great wineries that we never would have found on our own. She had great knowledge of wine, and was able to educate us and keep us laughing all day. She made it fun to learn. The wineries she picked exposed us to a variety of wine types as well as vineyard sizes - from tiny places to larger vineyards - as well as locations (valley to benchlands). Ms. T made us a yummy lunch that we enjoyed at the second winery and also had a cheese plate for us. It was like having a designated driver that was part walking library of wine information, part tour guide, part comedian. I would definitely book this tour again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lrawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing