We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great winery tour!!!”

Platypus Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 230 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Wine Tour. Join us on a Platypus small-group wine tour of the Napa Valley, the Sonoma Valley or the Russian River / Healdsburg wine country! You’ll visit four charming, backroads wineries, be served a picnic lunch in a winery setting and learn many interesting tidbits: local history, culture and wine making. Our specialty is intimate, fun and memorable wine tours. This is a social tour for folks who are interested in tasting some of the world’s most celebrated wines, but are not necessarily wine experts. Hotel pick-up included. Tasting fees not included. Last-minute inquiries are also welcome! We offer private tours as well. Did we mention, fun?! TCP-21230-P
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Such a great winery tour!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If I could give it more stars I would. Alison, our friendly & vibrant driver. She took us to small wineries and some mid size ones too. We went to 4 wineries in Yountville and Calistoga. She also prepared lunch at Tedessci winery. Lunch was a perfect combo of croissants and turkey or salami, quinoa salad and little muffins - quite good! For my wife and I it seemed very overwhelming to plan a day of wine tasting on our own. The amazing places we visited I'm sure we cod never find on our own.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,827
    397
    64
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
209 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lot of fun with Toni as our hostess. She was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about wines and vines. A shipping box is available for $10 for you to ship a case of wine home as you collect the wines throughout the day. I would recommend getting it if you are on the fence about it. We didn't and are regretting it now. Plus Toni gave us a free tasting at the vineyard she works at the next day. A ton of fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our guide was DJ and we had a great day. Loved the feel of smaller, more intimate vineyards. Actually got to meet and talk to Owners at 2 of the 4 stops. This was our first ever wine tour, and although neither one of us are huge wine drinkers, we had a great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We'll be back.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have had a great day with Carl our driver and the other members of our group. As the two of us were the only foreigners (Dutch) in the group, we felt greatly accepted by our fellow groupmembers from all over the USA; thank you for that.

Carl brought us to 4 excellent boutique wineries were we tasted a few really outstanding wines. Never thought merlot could be this good.

Thanks to all for a wonderful day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a wonderful tour! My wife and I were a bit hesitant at first, wondering whether it would be as fun as it looks. It was. Our guide, Army was very personable and knowledgeable. One of the highlights was Helena View vineyard. Charley Johnston is the owner and was probably the best part of the trip, along with the wines he makes. Suggest you request it. Just amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twbever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing