We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!!”

Platypus Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 233 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Wine Tour. Join us on a Platypus small-group wine tour of the Napa Valley, the Sonoma Valley or the Russian River / Healdsburg wine country! You’ll visit four charming, backroads wineries, be served a picnic lunch in a winery setting and learn many interesting tidbits: local history, culture and wine making. Our specialty is intimate, fun and memorable wine tours. This is a social tour for folks who are interested in tasting some of the world’s most celebrated wines, but are not necessarily wine experts. Hotel pick-up included. Tasting fees not included. Last-minute inquiries are also welcome! We offer private tours as well. Did we mention, fun?! TCP-21230-P
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great tour!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had so much fun on this tour with Sue (our tour guide). She picked really fantastic, unique wineries to visit that I am sure we wouldn't have found on our own. In each instance, the winery owner/tasting guide mentioned how much he or she enjoys working with Sue and their good relationship was evident in the great treatment we got at each place. She really set a fantastic mood, got the whole group laughing right away, and was extremely knowledgeable about the area. All around, I was absolutely thrilled with the experience and will definitely go on Platypus tours again in the future. I was hesitant this would be awkward or kitschy, and I could not have been more wrong - it was just a hilarious, interesting, insightful, and relaxing way to see wine country!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,937
    401
    64
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Happy Napa Girls and "The Angels Share"”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Kathy and Don, owners of Platypus Wine Tours have created a wonderful experience, especially for those seeking a personalized boutique vineyard experience. Speaking with 5th and 6th generation wine growers was amazing. Another pleasure was our guide Sam, such a knowledgeable and warm person. The apparent respect he has in the community brought us to vineyards off the beaten path for a unique and special time. My first trip to Napa will not be my last. So nice to have new friends in Napa ox

And a big Woof! out to all the wonderful new doggies friends too! ~Dianne in New Hampshire

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect day!!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on previous reviews here, we booked a Napa tour and were fortunate enough to have Army as our guide. He was fun, incredibly knowledgeable and arranged 4 great wineries for us to tour. We met great new friends on the bus, the weather was beautiful, and the wines amazing!!!! We will certainly book another tour on our next trip back to California!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank msrachacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Only Way to Tour Napa”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Eight women from NH descended upon Napa Valley and were lucky enough to find Sam who was the perfect host for two days of winery visits. Sam and owners Don and Kathy were conscientious about seeking feedback and asking sure the trip was everything we wanted it to be. Sam had tons of information about the community, the wineries and the wine and was so much fun to be with. Thanks to all of you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charla154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sonoma County Wine Tour”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Fantastic full day tour of four wineries! The guide, Pete, was awesome and very knowledgeable. Stopped at smaller wineries, which was great! Cheese/cracker platter on the bus, unlimited water, and a nice spread for lunch was included. Well worth the money. I went by myself and joined in on another group, which worked fine. Would definitely recommend and do it again myself!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LM_1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing