We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a must-do!”

Platypus Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 223 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Wine Tour. Join us on a Platypus small-group wine tour of the Napa Valley, the Sonoma Valley or the Russian River / Healdsburg wine country! You’ll visit four charming, backroads wineries, be served a picnic lunch in a winery setting and learn many interesting tidbits: local history, culture and wine making. Our specialty is intimate, fun and memorable wine tours. This is a social tour for folks who are interested in tasting some of the world’s most celebrated wines, but are not necessarily wine experts. Hotel pick-up included. Tasting fees not included. Last-minute inquiries are also welcome! We offer private tours as well. Did we mention, fun?! TCP-21230-P
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a must-do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found Platypus Tours on our B&B's website, and my sister and I couldn't be more pleased. What a fantastic way to spend the day! Army is amazing and friendly, taking us to boutique wineries we never would have found otherwise. Every detail was perfectly planned - from the cheese and crackers in the bus to the lovely lunch. Army even graciously dropped us off for ice cream (an unscheduled stop) between wineries due to the beautiful day! P.S. He's a retired photographer, and he takes the best pictures! Although, a word of advice, don't schedule dinner reservations for any earlier than 8 PM...there's a good chance you'll miss them if/when the tour gets back later than you planned.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scsrhetoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,777
    393
    63
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to start our vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I took a tour in the Sonoma Valley area, and it was a great way to get a feel for the place our first day there. Our tour guide, Brian, picked us up right on time and provided us with a suggested itinerary with room for flexibility. The places he chose were perfect: welcoming people and good wine. Platypus Tours is a good value and a great time. It's an especially good option for people who aren't veteran wine-country visitors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This tour is a must.. Allison was awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Greatvway to see the wineries.. We did the Sonoma tour with Allison our lovely Irish tour guide ;) who made the tour very enjoyable and fun. She was also able to give us tips for wineries in Nappa. Definitely recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let Platypus be your guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a private tour with Karl on Sept 20/2012 through the Napa wine region. Karl is excellent, very knowledgeable and will provide a fun filled day for you! Make sure you make a stop to V.Suttui they have the most largest range of cheeses and most impressive deli. We all had fun and would return to take in Platypus tours once again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank starlastella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our tour with Sam was super-fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The two of us were met in the Sonoma Square on time for our departure and greeted by Sam and our other friendly tour companions. We were 9 all together and had a good mixture of home towns between us. We immediately began to get to know one another while Sam gave us the lowdown on the day and what we could expect. The van was comfy and we sat in the round vs. in rows. It was cool.

We enjoyed three of the four wineries. The third place was nothing special and the folks working there didn't even seem to know their stuff. However, the other three were fabulous and we took home some really great wines you can't find distributed anywhere else.

What we most like about the Platypus wine tour style is you learn a lot. It's not just going to a winery tasting room but rather either being lead through the winery estate (Robert at Nicholson Ranch) or learning a lot about the vineyard history through passionate eyes (Bob at Bartholomew Estates). Paradise Ridge was a lovely final spot and our host was also highly knowledgeable and generous. We tried wine alongside fresh herbs and that was a really nice treat.

The picnic lunch was very good (they catered to my veggie needs with flying colours) and the scenery beautiful.

Thanks, Sam, we'll be sure to look you back up when we return to Sonoma Valley!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Subee_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing