We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much food!”

Filippi's Pizza Groto
Ranked #35 of 288 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
El Cerrito, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much food!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Filippi's doesn't look like much when you walk in, but the service is friendly, the prices are reasonable, and the food is good. You can't really ask for more than that. Add in the fact that my dinner (spaghetti and meatballs) was enough for FOUR meals, and the value really skyrockets. Yes, I said four meals. I took home my leftovers after dinner, and made three more complete meals out them. That plate was really really piled high with pasta, and a meatball bigger than a baseball. Just amazing!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank huntteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    79
    36
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“If you are tired of fancy food this is perfect”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are San Diego locals and how funny was it to us that when we were walking to the Oxbow Market, there we found Filipis. It was perfect for the night after we had been wine tasting all day, it was rainy, and quite frankly none of us felt like going out. Ordered up a pie and some hogies and it was a great nite. It is pizza so don't expect heaven but it is a nice break from all the high end, over the top dinners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrippyLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Too tired to dress for dinner after a day of wine tasting? Want to be treated as a beloved family member and served a meal that tastes as good as grandma's? Here's your place! Don't let the name fool you. There is far more than just good pizza. If you can name the pasta or sauce, they have it! Nothing out of a can here! It's old school Italian and after 60 years, they have it down to an art. Very child friend but I noted that parents with fussy children walked them outside (very polite and the best of "old school manners"). YOu'll love this place as much as we did!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza and great service!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great family friendly pizza place. That kind of place that you are used to going to that is in a neighborhood and not a chain pizza place. It was some of the best pizza I have ever had and we sat outside where they turned on a heater for us. It was a great experience and had that small town feel. Just downright good pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKVogel0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Warm, cozy, excellent italian restaurant. My huband ordered Spaghetti and Clams, it was delicious and the dish was huge. I ordered pizza, which was excellent. Lots of wine choices, since you are in Napa! AND, better yet, it was extremely reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verassecret24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Groto also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Groto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing