We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews are Justified - It's great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Reviews are Justified - It's great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Enjoyed a wonderful two night stay in Sept 2009. There are many glowing reviews and I think they’re all justified.

Price: Our budget was in mind when booking a place in Napa and the Elm House was right in the middle, not the cheapest thing in Napa, but not $300+ a night either. We felt it was a great value when you consider how much you “got” compared with how much you spent.

We stayed in the room above the office and not at anytime were there noises from downstairs or in the hallway (or from other rooms for that matter), pretty well insulated. We were also on the street side and couldn’t really notice any street noise.

I was surprised on how large the room was, I would say it’s probably one and a half to maybe twice as big as a “typical” hotel room at a chain hotel.

Breakfast was great as mentioned. Fresh mini banana nut bread one day with cranberry orange the next. Very tasty. Waffles were great, fruit was fresh, coffee was hot. We also took advantage of the hot ciders and cookies each night as a night cap after dinner and before bed. Nice to unwind out on their little patio.

Bed was comfortable. Shower was big, good pressure, and clean.

Location: I actually preferred the location close to Highway 29 as opposed to being downtown. We only went downtown one evening, but it seems like we were on and off 29 a lot as we ventured up to the wineries and around town.

Would recommend to friends who would visit out there.

Don’t book the high end, save a little money and bring back some more wine.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    251
    32
    16
    3
See reviews for
240
1,171
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

The staff at The Elm House Inn were awesome. They were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were spacious (we stayed in the newer building), clean and well appointed. The grounds are quaint, plenty of outdoor seating. The breakfast is superb. The only drawback is the distance from restaurants and shopping. It's walkable but is slightly less than a mile.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boardthedogandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is a great little hotel. Although it is rated 3 star, our room (207) was palatial compared to some of the others we stayed in during our holiday in California. The service from the staff was exceptional, they are happy to go out of their way to help you, They even checked me and my wife into our return flight on Virgin (which is just about as complicated as it gets). The hotel is clean and homely. The breakfast is great, the waffles are fantastic, the afternoon cookies are great too. It is a 25 minute walk to Main Street but after dining at one of the fine eateries in Napa, the walk back was welcome. It is also located more or less next to Highway 29 so is very convenient for the wineries etc. If I ever go back to Napa, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This is a lovely little Inn with excellent service and a homey atmosphere. It is located very close to CA-29 with easy access to the wineries. Breakfast was substantial and healthful, the cookies, etc. in the evening were a nice touch. It is also in easy walking distance of downtown Napa for dinner after the wine tours are done. Enjoy, we did!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanstique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband & I had been to Napa valley for 3 times. We stayed in Yontsville & St. Helena for rhe good restaurants sake, but they were expensive, nothing standed out. This time we chose the #1 TripAdvisor recommanded, and it really lived up to its standard. First of all, the service from all the staff were warm & friendly. Tom & Karen are exceptional. They did the extra(offer you nice dinner plate when we ordered the take out,) recommand nice restaurants & wineries we didn't explored before. The breakfest were as good as expensive B&B. Check them out if you are heading to this area, we are definitely going back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkperal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

This place just felt like it belonged in wine country; everything from the decor to the exceptional staff/owners. We checked in during the afternoon and there were fresh lemon cakes to be had. After having dinner near the river (which is about 2 mins away), we came back and there were freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. They also had complimentary tea/coffee/water available all day.

I've stayed at many nicer hotels, but none were quite as welcoming as this. The rooms were cozy, clean and there was even a fireplace in the corner, which was a nice touch. We did a lot of research prior to booking here and I'm glad we stayed here rather than some $300/night place.

As other posters have mentioned, they have awesome freshly made waffles for breakfast. Along with that, there were: grapefruit, apples, oranges, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, pastries and juice/coffee. The spread was quite impressive, and best of all, it's included!

The location is great if you want to explore the Napa wineries or just head downtown. I suggest working North to South so that you can end your day near the Inn, restaurants, outlets, and shops downtown. We met the husband who runs the place with his wife and he was a real down-to-earth person, and genuinely nice and appreciative of our business.

I have never tried a B&B, but if it's anything like this, I will be seeking them out! I loved this place and will be recommending it to all of my friends and family who head to napa/sonoma. The #1 ranking on trip advisor is well deserved.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnsmithy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel! We spent two nights there over the Labor Day weekend. There is the main hotel building and a smaller building in the back. We had two rooms in the back building, both with comfortable king sized beds. The rooms were large and immaculate. The bathrooms were spotless and there was an extra sink in the closet area which was very handy. Breakfast is included...waffles, oatmeal, pastries, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. There were individual loaves of banana and lemon poppyseed bread fresh out of the oven. Waffles are made for you upon request. The cookies and cider in the early evening are wonderful too. The owners take great pride in their hotel and it shows. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holadebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing