We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A first rate B&B disguised as a Best Western hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A first rate B&B disguised as a Best Western hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a special treat to find this hotel! We highly recommend it. We were looking for a less pricey accommodation than those in Yountville or St. Helena, and this little gem fit the bill perfectly. The room was extremely comfortable and cozy, and our room and the entire property was immaculate. The owners and staff couldn't have been nicer. We had considered having breakfast at a bakery downtown, but after seeing the large spread of food, we opted to enjoy their wonderful buffet selections sitting at a charming little table by the fountain on the beautiful patio. When we visit Napa Valley in the future, we will definitely stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    223
    30
    16
    3
See reviews for
213
1,074
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Elm House in Napa was one the most pleasant places we stayed on a journey that took us 3 weeks across the western US. The location was excellent but surpassed by charm and gracious staffers. We stayed for 3 nights and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CtMarigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were driving from San Francisco to Seattle and this was one of our first stops. After our stay we decided to try and look for other Best Western plus accommodations on our tour. It's a nice blending of well known hotel and cosy atmosphere of a B & B. We had a spacious room, 2 comfy armchairs and inroom fridge. The main lounge is beautifully decorated, comfy sofas, fireplace. High ceilinged room with balcony around, the second floor rooms look down into the lounge area. Delicious cookies and drinks in late afternoon. Lovely breakfast to start your morning. The aroma of baking and cinnamon was a nice way to wake up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstrip
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We did 8 days in California with Napa being our last stop. The hotel is delightful, the staff charming, and the breakfast was perfect. The rooms were very clean and the linens nice. We had a room on the front of the hotel and the street noise was the only small drawback. The gardens were so pretty and their roses were gorgeous. As anxious and ready as I was to get home, i would have loved to stay a few extra days in Napa and at Elm House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were not disappointed. As many reviewers have suggested, the place has sort of a B&B feel to it. I should add though that the breakfasts are not as elaborate as I've seen at "real" B&B's. There were your basic cereals and breads and fruits and such. The only thing they prepared were waffles, which were quite tasty. That said, everything else about it did have a real nice homey feel that you don't often get from chains. The service was very good. We arrived quite late (about 11PM) and we were greeted quite nicely. She even got us a few delicious cookies (which were baked fresh every day) and a couple of glasses of wine to retire in our room with. And the room was very nice. We paid a bit more to get the one right above the reception area on the second floor which featured a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub. Sadly, we didn't get to enjoy either one of them (it was warm and we lacked a lot of time in the room given that we were running around the beautiful Napa area most of the time), but the room itself was quite large with a separate couch area where we could watch TV and such. The bed was not the best, but quite comfortable for a good night's sleep. The location is also quite good, less than a mile from downtown Napa. If this were an extremely expensive hotel, like some of the others in Napa, I might be inclined to give it 4 stars, but we were very impressed with the value which, for me, tips it toward 5.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the larger room with the fireplace and the Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terpdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Elm House Inn for three nights the first week in June, 2013. We had a room on the second floor in the main building. Each morning when we stepped out of our room on the interior balcony to the wonderful smell of breakfast drifting up. The breakfast was a wonderful way start to each day. Table service was provided for waffles, toast and the Egg in a Hole which is a waffle with an egg cooked in the center. Fresh made cookies were offered each afternoon and wine tasting was offered one evening.

The room was large, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Parking is available just a few steps from the front door. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. Location is ideal being very close to the highway and a short distance from the downtown area in a quite neighborhood area.

We would love to stay here again on our next trip to Napa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in the Annex part of this hotel that has 4 rooms to it and is just steps away from the main building. I really liked this spot as it overlooked the gardens and wasn't directly on the street (Calif Blvd) that the hotel is on - that street has more traffic on it than I thought. It was maybe 1 mile to downtown which is a short drive but if you have sandals with heels, a little too far to walk, imo. A grocery store was only .80 or mile away, and hwy 29 is closeby so this is convinient.

Our room was large and impressive with little touches like 2 comfortable white robes, 2 wine glasses and a chilling jar for wine. Bed was very comfortable and the room had a second separate sink and mirror area to get ready. The outdoor hotub was nice and again felt great to have flowers in bloom around you. This was really like a cross between a B&B and typical hotel.

The breakfast was really nice in terms of having waffles they made for you (no waiting in waffle making lines!), genuine homemade muffins, fruit, cereals, yogurt etc. Eggs and sasuage aren't offered but we didn't miss it. This was so much better than staying in a regular hotel that's more "grab and go" with enough people to make that unpleasant - with such a smaller hotel and truly quiet breakfast area (nice silverware and cloth napkins!!) this was a treat!

We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask if possible to not have a room facing the main road Calif Blvd. Better yet see if you can stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 29 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 29 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western + Iniative, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing