We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than a typical Best Western!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than a typical Best Western!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This charming property is more like a great big house, similar to the beautiful mansions on surrounding streets, than a typical hotel. Our corner room had plenty of space and lots of light from its many large windows. The only thing missing was a comfy couch to watch the evening news. We liked the breakfast buffet, found some really healthy food items to start our day. The hotel's staff were very helpful and guided us on a nice 10 minute walk to downtown Napa where we found good food and a Ben and Jerry's for yummy Vermont ice cream. A good place to stay at the southern gateway to Napa Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edouardhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    251
    32
    16
    3
See reviews for
240
1,171
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. I found the hotel to be very clean and homey. The staff and owner are very genuinely friendly and try hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The chocolate chip cookies are as good as everyone says they are, and if you get in after 6pm just ask for one from the kitchen. I thought that the decor in the rooms fit in with the feel of the hotel. I also found the hotel to be very quiet and relaxing, we slept great all 3 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and found that floor to be more quiet than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler25717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is not your typical "Best Western". We just returned from a two night anniversary stay at Elm House, which has a very nice, small, B&B feel to it. The owner and entire staff were wonderful, very friendly and always asking if they could help or assist. We stayed upstairs in the annex, the room was quite large, with a two vanities in separate rooms and a small fridge which was nice. Plenty of parking on site.

While it is a bit of a walk to downtown Napa, it has great highway access to the rest of the valley, and is easy to get to. A bit of street noise in the morning, but that should be expected.
The Breakfast was great, plenty to eat, the staff was extremely attentive, toasting our bagels and always re-filling coffee. It is served in a small intimate dining/living room area inside, with a very nice patio with space heaters just outside. There is a hot tub on the grounds, we didn't use it but several people did.

If you do stay here, you must try the chocolate chip cookies which are put out around 6:00. They are definately worth waiting for!

Room Tip: Room 404 is upstairs in the annex - nice large clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricksteveswannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I think I was expecting too much after the great TA reviews and the #1 ranking for Napa. We probably would have been happier if we'd had a different room - #101 is the loudest there. We were just opposite reception, had two walls of windows facing a busy street and not a whole lot in the way of sound proofing. Road noise was pretty much constant, breakfast chatter and clanking dishes starting at 7:00 am, and then intermittent sounds of people coming in/out all day. Breakfast was tasty and they had two amazing fresh-baked breads while we were there. I doubt we'll be back but if you choose to stay....ask to stay in ANY room other than #101 or #102!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this place because of all the great reviews on TA but we did not feel that our experience was worth the money ($300/night). The inn looks very charming from the outside but is located about 15 - 20 minute walk from downtown Napa. The owner (I'm guessing that was who was at reception, he didn't introduce himself) was friendly enough at check-in but we didn't see him again after that. The room was a real disappointment - it was small with dated furniture and furnishings. The walls were also very thin and we could hear the traffic from the road and noise from other guests. There was little that could be described as charming about it. We were really looking forward to breakfast after reading the reviews but again, we were a little disappointed. There no pancakes, only waffles and no bacon. The buffet spread was okay, we've had much better. If I'm sounding a little fussy in this review, it's only because we were expecting so much more (and have experienced some wonderful B & B's in US) after paying more than we were at the Fairmont in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miya'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for my 50th Birthday. Read many of the reviews before coming and agree with them all. Tom is very personable and called me by name everytime I saw him. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We had a premium room that was huge. Flat sceen TV with plenty of free channels. We looked forward to the breakfasts every morning. The minute we entered the dining area we were greeted and asked if we wanted a waffle or something else. Best Western has a great thing with there plus and premiere properties, I always liked the accomodations at the regular ones but when I want more I can count on getting just what I want. We have stayed at many places around the Napa Valley and this will always be at the top of our list. It had the feel of a Bed & Breakfast but all of the more modern ammenaties. The price is very decent for what you get. Parking was never a problem nor getting a seat at breakfast. As a regular to Napa I would recommend this in a heartbeat. Also the Chocolate Chip cookies are to die for, if you ask they will save some for you if your not around when they put them out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winecountrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Words can not express how this place makes you feel like you are at home! We just came back from visiting for a night for my husbands 30th birthday! The owners make you feel VERY welcome always there to answer any questions and go out of their way to do anything for you! They even cut fresh flowers for our room to celebrate his bday.

We got to the hotel very early and Tom made sure that we helped ourself to the breakfast and let us check in earlier than usual.

The room is BEAUTIFUL. we stayed in a seperate building on the second floor and loved it. it was HUGE and had a bathroom and a seperate vanity area to get ready.

Its also only a 15 min walk to downtown napa...which is a cute town!

I want to tell everyone about this place! The owners are amazing and the breafast is AWESOME...i still dream of the homemade bread now!

Thanks Elm House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mueller1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing